PBKS vs KKR: Why is Lockie Ferguson Not Playing Today’s IPL 2023 Match? Check KKR Playing XI

Published on: Apr 1, 2023 3:24 pm IST|Updated on: Apr 1, 2023 3:24 pm IST

Lockie Ferguson

In an important news development, the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) are not playing their newest overseas recruit Lockie Ferguson in the KKR Playing 11 for their opening match of Indian Premier League (IPL 2023) against Punjab Kings (PBKS) being hosted at the Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali. After winning the IPL trophy in 2012 and 2014, the Kolkata Knight Riders ended as the runners-up during IPL 2021 where they lost the finals against Chennai Super Kings. KKR finished at the 7th position on the points table during IPL 2022.

PBKS vs KKR: Why is Lockie Ferguson Not Playing Today’s IPL 2023 Match?

After winning the toss and opting to bowl first, Kolkata Knight Riders captain Nitish Rana revealed that Lockie Ferguson is not playing today’s PBKS vs KKR IPL 2023 match. Interestingly, the New Zealand right-arm speedster was traded to the Kolkata Knight Riders from Gujarat Titans ahead of the IPL 2023 auction and there is still no clarity on his fitness for this season of the tournament. In his career so far, Ferguson has picked up as many as 36 wickets from 35 games at an economy of less than 9. Incidentally, Lockie Ferguson ended up bowling the fastest ball of IPL 2022 when he clocked an astonishing bowling speed of 157.3 kmph in the finals against Rajasthan Royals. On the other hand, KKR have included the experienced pacer Tim Southee in the playing 11 for this crucial game against Punjab Kings.

KKR Playing 11

1. Mandeep Singh
2. Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk)
3. Nitish Rana (C)
4. Andre Russell
5. Rinku Singh
6. Sunil Narine
7. Shardul Thakur
8. Anukul Roy

9. Tim Southee
10. Umesh Yadav
11. Varun Chakravarthy

IPL 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Photo Gallery | IPL Stats

Kolkata Knight Riders 2023 Squad

Player Role Price
Nitish Rana Batsmen 8 crore
Venkatesh Iyer All-Rounder 8 Crore
Andre Russell All-Rounder 12 Crore
Sunil Narine All-Rounder 6 Crore
Umesh Yadav Bowler 2 crore
Tim Southee Bowler 1.5 crore
Harshit Rana Bowler 20 lakh
Varun Chakravarthy Bowler 8 Crore
Anukul Roy All-Rounder 20 lakh
Rinku Singh Batsmen 55 lakh
Rahmanullah Gurbaz Batsman/Wicket-keeper 50 lakh
Shardul Thakur Bowler 10.75 Crore
Lockie Ferguson Bowler 10 Crore
N Jagadeesan Batsmen 90 lakh
Vaibhav Arora Bowler 60 lakh
Suyash Sharma Bowler 20 lakh
David Wiese All-Rounder 1 crore
Kulwant Khejroliya Bowler 20 lakh
Litton Das Wicket-keeper 50 lakh
Mandeep Singh Batsmen 50 lakh
Shakib Al Hasan All-Rounder 1.5 crore

Follow Indiafantasy on Google News

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article