RCB vs CSK IPL 2024 Match 1: Why is Matheesha Pathirana not playing today’s match?

Published on: Mar 22, 2024 7:46 pm IST|Updated on: Mar 22, 2024 7:49 pm IST

Why is Matheesha Pathirana not playing GT vs CSK IPL 2023 match?

Matheesha Pathirana, the promising pacer for Chennai Super Kings (CSK), will unfortunately miss the start of IPL 2024 due to a hamstring injury. Sustained during the second T20I against Bangladesh, the 21-year-old Sri Lankan player won’t recover in time for CSK’s opener on March 22. It remains uncertain when he will be able to join the defending champions.

Why is Matheesha Pathirana not playing today

According to a report by ESPNCricinfo, Pathirana awaits clearance from Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) before he can join the MS Dhoni-led side. CSK is scheduled to play the IPL 2024 opener against Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

Ruturaj confirmed at Toss:¬†Gaikwad says he came to know he would be the captain a week ago. Conway and Pathirana will miss out unfortunately. CSK’s four overseas players are Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Maheesh Theekshana and Mustafizur Rahamn. He also says Sameer Rizvi is making his debut.

Pathirana’s absence adds to CSK’s injury woes, with Devon Conway already sidelined until May due to a thumb injury. Pathirana had been a standout performer for CSK, boasting an exceptional economy rate of 8.00 at the death overs, the best among bowlers with a minimum of 90 balls bowled in that phase. Additionally, he was the leading wicket-taker at the death, claiming 18 wickets from 12 innings.

With Pathirana unavailable for CSK’s initial matches, the management may turn to Mustafizur Rahman, who has also excelled in the death overs. Although Mustafizur suffered an injury before IPL 2024, he has since recovered and rejoined the franchise. The team combination for upcoming matches will depend on the pitch conditions, with Moeen Ali offering another valuable bowling option, especially on conducive surfaces.

Chennai Super Kings Playing XI

Ruturaj Gaikwad(c), Rachin Ravindra, Ajinkya Rahane, Daryl Mitchell, Ravindra Jadeja, Sameer Rizvi, MS Dhoni(w), Deepak Chahar, Maheesh Theekshana, Mustafizur Rahman, Tushar Deshpande

Royal Challengers Bengaluru Playing XI

Faf du Plessis(c), Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Dinesh Karthik, Anuj Rawat(w), Karn Sharma, Alzarri Joseph, Mayank Dagar, Mohammed Siraj

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article