Rohit Sharma injury: Indian captain to play Bangladesh vs India 1st Test? Here’s update

Updated on: Dec 11, 2022 4:37 pm IST

  • BAN vs IND 2022

    Rohit Sharma injury: The ODI series between Bangladesh and India saw the hosts clinching the series by the margin of 2-1 and giving a good eye-opener to the visitors. The focus now shifts towards the two-match Test series, that will be extremely crucial for both the sides in the context of World Test Championship. The two Test matches will be played in Chattogram on 14th December and Mirpur on 22nd December respectively.

    Rohit Sharma likely to miss the first Test against Bangladesh 

    The ongoing tour of Bangladesh hasn’t been easy for India. Not only did they loss the ODI series, but it also saw of plethora of injuries for them as well. However, one injury that will concerning for them is of skipper Rohit Sharma’s.

    The right-hander suffered a hand injury in the second ODI against Bangladesh while fielding. He immediately went off the field and went for scans, which revealed that the Indian skipper has dislocated his left thumb and also few cuts were there too.

    Although, he came out to bat later in the innings in second ODI to rescue his team but was ruled out of the third ODI as he travelled back to Mumbai to consultant expert there. However, since then no official word on the availability of Indian skipper has been there.

    A few media reports have suggested that Indian management is hopeful that he will be fit by the start of the second game. Which to some extinct depicts that he is likely to miss the first game against Bangladesh on 14th December.

    Rohit Sharma injury: Predicted Indian XI for the first Test against Bangladesh 

    With Rohit Sharma likely to miss the first Test, KL Rahul will captain the team in first game and Shubman Gill is expected to replace the skipper at the top. With conditions favouring spin, India is most likely to play three spinners in R Ashwin, Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav. Here’s the Predicted Indian XI for the first Test against Bangladesh

    KL Rahul (C)
    Shubman Gill 
    Cheteshwar Pujara 
    Virat Kohli 
    Shreyas Iyer 
    Rishabh Pant 
    Axar Patel 
    R Ashwin 
    Kuldeep Yadav 
    Mohammed Siraj 
    Umesh Yadav 

    Previous Article
    Next Article