Rohit Sharma ODI Captain Announced by the BCCI. Check Complete Details

Updated on: Dec 8, 2021 8:16 pm IST

  • Rohit Sharma ODI Captain

    Rohit Sharma ODI Captain: In a massive breaking news, Rohit Sharma has been officially announced as India’s ODI captain going forward in the 50-overs format. After Virat Kohli decided to step down as the T20I captain post the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 in the UAE, Rohit was named the full-time skipper in the shortest format of the game. Therefore, now the senior opener will be captaining the national team going forward in both the white-ball formats.

    Rohit Sharma ODI Captain Announced

    The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) revealed that the All-India Senior Selection Committee-led by Chetan Sharma has named Rohit Sharma as the full-time ODI and T20I captain of the Indian team. However, in a noticeable mention, former white-ball skipper Virat Kohli had earlier stated that he want to focus on his ODI and Test captain which is why he decided to step down as the T20I skipper. But the BCCI has made matters more clear by naming a single captain for both the limited-overs formats. Rohit also captained India to a sensational T20I series whitewash recently against New Zealand at home.

    Related: Who is India’s New Test Vice-Captain for South Africa Tour 2021?

    SA vs IND 2021: India Test Squad Announced

    Rohit Sharma’s first assignment as full-time ODI captain will be during the upcoming South Africa tour where Team India is scheduled to play three ODI matches on 19, 21 and 23 January 2022 respectively. Incidentally, Rohit has also been named as the new vice-captain of the Indian Test team for the Proteas tour. On the other hand, India have suffered as massive blows with key players like Ravindra Jadeja, Shubman Gill and Axar Patel getting ruled out of the South Africa tour due to respective injury issues.

    Related: Possible India Playing 11 for 1st Test SA vs IND

    However, BCCI has named an 18-member squad for the three-match Test series against South Africa starting with the first Test match from 26 December in Centurion.

    India’s Test squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj.

    Related: Mitchell Starc First Ball WICKET in Ashes 2021 Series – WATCH

    Standby Players: Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Arzan Nagwaswalla.

    For more IND vs SA 2021 news, click here

    Previous Article
    Next Article