April 2, 2019
| On 4 months ago

RR vs RCB IPL 2019: Stoinis, Coulter-Nile in for RCB, Turner joins RR

By Chaitanya Laxman

Two teams who are sulking at the bottom of the points table lock horns against each other to earn their first points in IPL 2019. Although little has gone right for RR and RCB both teams will be pumped up as they are joined by their Australian players.

Middle-order batsman Ashton Turner is available for Rajasthan Royals while Marcus Stoinis and Nathan Coulter-Nile are available for RCB.

Ashton Turner to boost middle-order but at who’s expense?

Ashton Turner showcased what he can do in the death overs by snatching a win against India in the recent ODI series. His presence will surely boost Rajasthan’s middle-order and with Ben Stokes finding form the idea of these two unleashed in death overs is a highly lucrative one.

But where does Turner slot in? Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Steve Smith and Jofra Archer all look too good to be dropped and hence Turner might warm the benches atleast for now.

RCB gets the Stoinis and Coulter-Nile boost

Marcus Stoinis is an highly effective batsman at the top of the order which straightaway slots him with Parthiv Patel as RCB’s opener. The fact that he can chip in with quality overs will sooth RCB as this strengthens their rather fragile pace bowling unit. This could mean Moeen Ali’s exit from the playing XI.

Also read: RCB VS RR IPL Today Match Prediction | Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore 14th Match IPL

Talking about RCB’s pace bowling unit, Nathan Coulter-Nile will be a big boost for the side as he has the extra pace as well as the accuracy.

RR and RCB squad

Rajasthan Royals squad:

Ajinkya Rahane (c), Krishnappa Gowtham, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Gopal, Aryaman Birla, S. Midhun, Prashant Chopra, Stuart Binny, Dhawal Kulkarni, Mahipal Lomror, Rahul Tripathi, Ben Stokes, Steve Smith, Jos Buttler, Jofra Archer, Ish Sodhi, Jaydev Unadkat, Varun Aaron, Oshane Thomas, Shashank Singh, Liam Livingstone, Riyan Parag, Ashton Turner, Manan Vohra, Shubham Ranjane

Also read: RR vs RCB IPL 2019: Chance for winless teams to get things right

Royal Challengers Bangalore squad:

Virat Kohli (c), Parthiv Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj, Washington Sundar, Pawan Negi, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kulwant Khejroliya, AB de Villiers, Marcus Stoinis, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Moeen Ali, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Shimron Hetmyer, Gurkeerat Singh, Shivam Dube, Devdutt Padikkal, Himmat Singh, Heinrich Klaasen, Milind Kumar, Prayas Ray Barman, Akshdeep Nath

Chaitanya Laxman