SA vs IND 2nd Test Playing XI of Both Teams

Updated on: Jan 3, 2024 12:31 pm IST

SA vs IND 2nd Test Predicted Playing 11

As the cricketing calendar kicks off in 2024, India is gearing up for redemption in the second and final Test against South Africa at Newlands in Cape Town, commencing on 3rd January. The Rohit Sharma-led squad concluded the previous year on a somber note, suffering a significant innings defeat in the first Test, conceding a 1-0 lead to South Africa in the series.

SA vs IND 2nd Test Playing XI

The defeat exposed vulnerabilities in both India’s batting and bowling departments. While changes in the batting order seem unlikely, the team management is banking on players like Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, and Shreyas Iyer to step up their game, augmenting the leadership of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, who seek to rebound after lackluster performances in the initial Test. KL Rahul’s stellar century in Centurion solidifies his position in the lineup.

However, the pressing concern remains the bowling configuration, especially on a Cape Town pitch historically less supportive to pacers. This scenario points towards a potential inclusion of spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, known for their adaptability even in challenging conditions, thereby potentially limiting the pace options to one among Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, or Mukesh Kumar. The undeniable presence of Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj adds depth to India’s pace arsenal.

IND Playing XI

  1. Rohit Sharma
  2. Yashasvi Jaiswal
  3. Shubman Gill
  4. Virat Kohli
  5. Shreyas Iyer
  6. KL Rahul (wk)
  7. Ravindra Jadeja
  8. Shardul Thakur
  9. Jasprit Bumrah
  10. Mohammed Siraj
  11. Prasidh Krishna/Mukesh Kumar

SA Playing XI

  1. Dean Elgar
  2. Aiden Markram
  3. Tony de Zorzi
  4. Keegan Petersen
  5. Zubayr Hamza
  6. David Bedingham
  7. Kyle Verreynne (wk)
  8. Marco Jansen
  9. Keshav Maharaj/Lungi Ngidi
  10. Kagiso Rabada
  11. Nandre Burger
For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article