August 28, 2018
| On 10 months ago

See Pics: Team India gear up for the fourth Test

By Shalini Singh @Shalini_Singh15

Team India dusted off the criticism in style and produced a fantastic collective performance to outplay England by 203 runs in the third Test at Nottingham to keep the Test series alive. Now, they will look forward to reversing their fortunes when they meet the hosts in Southampton on Thursday.

After relishing the victory of Trent Bridge, the Indian team reached Southampton on Monday afternoon and hit the nets soon afterwards.

The whole team gathered together to train for the next Test match on Tuesday morning as well where the newly inducted members of the Indian squad, Prithvi Shaw and Hanuma Vihari were also seen breaking the sweat with the big guns of the national team.

Prithvi Shaw earned his maiden Test call-up for the remaining two Test matches against England after replacing Murali Vijay in the 18-member Indian squad. Shaw was the skipper of India U-19 World Cup Winning team earlier this year and he garnered attention with his consistency which prompted the national selectors to pick the 18-year old for the upcoming Tests against England.

Along with Prithvi Shaw, Hanuma Vihari has got his maiden Test call-up. Vihari was a member of 2012 U-19 World Cup and he has been performing consistently in the Ranji Trophy and India A in the recent times.

Vihari has scored 5142 runs and 15 centuries in first-class cricket and he averages about 60 in 63 first-class games. Hanuma Vihari scored 147 in List A game against West Indies during the UK Tour and he had also smashed a half-century in a four-day Test against Windies.

If Team India succeeds in winning this match, they will take themselves on the brink of creating history and would stand a chance to win the series by 3-2 against England.

India will be playing the fourth Test match against England on 30 August at The Rose Bowl, Southampton.

India Squad for the fourth Test:

Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw,  KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Karun Nair, Dinesh Karthik (wk), R Ashwin, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Mohd. Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Hanuma Vihari, Shardul Thakur

Shalini Singh @Shalini_Singh15

A Writer | A Reader | Above all- A Human Being constantly looking forward to pushing the envelopes!