Categories: Cricket News
January 26, 2019
| On 5 months ago

SL pacer out of 2nd AUS Test due to injury

By Chaitanya Laxman

Nothing is going right for Sri Lanka in Australia. The visitors lost the first Test by a big margin and now their pace bowler Lahiru Kumara has been ruled out of the second Test due to a hamstring injury. In fact, Kumara has been ruled out of the upcoming South Africa tour as well.

Kumara out for four to six weeks

The Lankan pace bowler was injured during Australia’s first innings in the first Test. The pacer was injured on the day two of the Brisbane Test and had to leave the field. He didn’t come to bat in Sri Lanka’s second innings as well.

After the match, Sri Lanka skipper Dinesh Chandimal confirmed Kumara’s injury. He explained that the pace bowler is out for at least four to six months. And hence he won’t be a part of the second Test.

The right-arm pace bowler had taken one wicket during Australia’s first innings and was in good form against New Zealand as well. In 2 Tests against New Zeland earlier this year, he had taken nine wickets in four innings.

Image credits @ AFP

Kumara latest addition to Sri Lanka’s list of injured players

In recent times, Sri Lanka has seen a few players getting out of the team due to hamstring injuries. Nuwan Pradeep, another pace bowler was injured in the last week while Angelo Mathews faced a hamstring injury during the second Test against New Zealand.

Unfortunately for Sri Lanka, Dushmantha Chameera, another pacer in the current squad has been injured as well. Chandimal didn’t reveal the extent of his injury but stated that they have to look for two pacers for the second Test.

No replacement named for Kumara

The Sri Lankan team management hasn’t named any replacement for the pacer bowlers so far.

Sri Lanka’s squad: Dinesh Chandimal – Captain, Dimuth Karunaratne – Vice Captain, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya De Silva, Roshen Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Janith Perera, Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Suranga Lakmal, Vishwa Fernando and Kasun Rajitha

Chaitanya Laxman