| On 12 months ago

SLC Make Amendments To The Earlier Plans, Changes Focus To Local Players

By Abhishek Shankar

Sri Lankan cricket squad has been former world T20 champions. However, unlike other countries, it has remained unsuccessful in hosting Twenty20 leagues. This time, however, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has announced the launch of a new T20 league. It is set to commence from August 21.

It is set to comprise four teams only i.e. Colombo, Dambulla, Galle and Kandy. Each team will face the challenge of other three teams twice. The top two sides will then be playing the final at R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo on September 2.

SLC was seen releasing the official statement regarding the launch of the T20 league. The format of the competition was also included in the release. The Sri Lankan squad will also participate in the tournament with the series against South Africa set to end on August 14.

“All the national players, domestic players and new emerging talent from U19 players will be playing in this tournament, which will be played at venues such as, the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, Pallekelle International Cricket Stadium and Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium,” the statement read. All of these T20 league matches will be day-night affairs with two matches scheduled to play daily.


In past, Sri Lanka’s attempts to have its own T20 league were not successful, not once but twice paving way for a short domestic Twenty20 competition. The board had failed to gather adequate commercial interest around the tournament, seeing it failing to materialise even after years since its announcement.

The most depressing fall came in 2013 when each franchise was terminated since they failed to pay the participation fee just weeks before the first ball was scheduled to be bowled.

However, the board officials made a new announcement on Thursday that the earlier plans have been scrapped and instead of that, a Sri Lanka Cricket T20 league, in which only the local players will be participating, will be conducted.

“There will be no foreign players, but our own international cricketers will play in the four teams that will take part,” a board official was quoted as saying by news agency AFP. “The new league will nurture emerging local talent by giving young players the opportunity to play alongside the island’s best,” the official added.

Abhishek Shankar

A writer by day and a reader by night. Chiller and life juggler