Categories: Cricket News
| On 9 months ago

Sri Lanka call back three players for NZ Test series

By Chaitanya Laxman

After a disastrous series against England, Sri Lanka team management has decided to call back two experienced cricketers for the tour of New Zealand. Batsman Lahiru Thirimanne and pace bowler Nuwan Pradeep have been added to the 17-member squad while skipper Dinesh Chandimal is back in the team as well.

Thiramanne, Pradeep and Samarawickrama back in the national team

Left-hand batsman Lahiru Thiramanne last played for Sri Lanka in November 2017. He has featured in 29 Tests so far and has scored 1153 runs at an average of 23.06. The left-hand batsman had a strong show in the domestic cricket recently. He scored 347 runs at an average of 173.5 for Sri Lanka A in four innings against Bangladesh in July this year.

On the other hand pace bowler Nuwan Pradeep played his last Test in October 2017. He has experience of 28 Tests and has claimed 70 wickets so far. The team management has opted for a strong pace bowling unit considering the conditions in New Zealand.

Wicket-keeper batsman Sadeera Samarawickrama has featured in only four Tests and played his last Test in December 2017.

Image credits @ BCCI

Chandimal back, Karunaratne promoted as vice-captain

Dinesh Chandimal who missed the second and third Test against England due to an injury is back in the team and will be leading the side. He will be assisted by opening batsman  Dimuth Karunaratne as his deputy. Karunaratne has been promoted for the post of vice-captain ahead of Suranga Lakmal who led the team in the past in the absence of Chandimal.

Sri Lanka to play 2 Tests against New Zealand

Also read: Will open the innings if captain asks: Hanuma Vihari

The Sri Lankan team will play two Tests against New Zealand in December 2018 with the first Test being played from December 15th.

Sri Lanka Test squad: Dinesh Chandimal (capt), Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Angelo Mathews, Roshen Silva, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Danushka Gunathilaka, Lahiru Thirimanne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Dushmantha Chameera

Chaitanya Laxman

Smitten by cricket, green mountains, and written words, Chaitanya is engrossed with cricket stats and analysis. But cricket commentary is what he savors the most.