Categories: Cricket News
February 7, 2019
| On 4 months ago

Star Nepal spinner rejoins Melbourne Stars in BBL

By Chaitanya Laxman

BBL franchise Melbourne Stars have received a big boost ahead of their important match against the Heats on Friday as Nepal spin bowler Sandeep Lamichhane is back in the squad. The star cricketer has replaced England’s pace bowler Liam Plunkett.

Lamicchane rejoins Stars after a STINT in BPL and international cricket

The 19 year old spin sensation was part of the Stars’ team in the initial phase of BBL. But then he left the tournament to take part in Bangladesh Premier League and also represented Nepal in international cricket.

He now rejoins the team for their penultimate match of the tournament against Heat.

The leg spinner bowled exceptionally well in the earlier part of BBL. He had claimed eight wickets in four games for the Stars and most importantly his economy rate was only 6.81. His effective bowling allowed the Stars to control the middle overs in the tournament.

Lamichhane’s impressive show in BPL

The spin bowler was effective in Bangladesh Premier League as well where he represented Sylhet Sixers. He picked four wickets in six games for Sixes in BPL.

The leg spinner then represented Nepal in three ODIS and three T20Is against UAE. He claimed seven wickets in ODIs and bagged five wickets in T20Is.

Stars’ and Heat’s squads for the Friday’s game

The encounter against Heat is very crucial for Stars. They have two games remaining in the tournament and they need to win at least one game to book a place in the top four.

Also read: NZ vs IND 2nd T20I: Top 3 fantasy cricket picks for New Zealand vs India Dream11 team

Heat: Chris Lynn (c), Max Bryant, Ben Cutting, Brendan Doggett, Matthew Kuhnemann, Josh Lalor, Brendon McCullum, James Peirson, Jack Prestwidge, Matt Renshaw, Alex Ross, Mark Steketee, Mitch Swepson

Stars: Glenn Maxwell (c), Jackson Bird, Dwayne Bravo, Jackson Coleman, Ben Dunk, Seb Gotch, Evan Gulbis, Peter Handscomb, Sandeep Lamichhane, Nic Maddinson, Marcus Stoinis, Dan Worrall, Adam Zampa

Chaitanya Laxman