| On Jun 10, 2021 12:49 PM IST

WATCH: Team India have their first group training session ahead of WTC Final


Team India train at the Ageas Bowl: Team India have begun preparations full throttle as they take on New Zealand in the much anticipated WTC Final. The mandatory hotel quarantine at the Ageas Bowl has come to an end, as the players are back on the field training as a group.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) posted a video on their Twitter handle,  where we can see the likes of Virat Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami and the rest taking part in intense net sessions.  Other than that there were a few fielding drills that also took place.

“We have had our first group training session and the intensity was high #TeamIndia’s preparations are on in full swing for the #WTC21 Final”, the BCCI posted.

WTC Final Date Schedule

The Indian Cricket Team take on New Zealand from June 18-22, with an extra sixth day as an option to determine the result. The final will be hosted at the Ageas Bowl Stadium, Southampton and will be broadcasted on the Star Sports Network.

Talking about New Zealand, they are currently taking part in the two-match Test series versus hosts England. The first test ended as a draw, but there were plenty of talking points from New Zealand’s camp. Devon Conway struck a double hundred on debut and will be confident going ahead.

Henry Nicholls also put in a decent contribution, while, Tim Southee displayed his brilliance with the ball to bag six wickets in the first innings. Trent Boult is also expected to return for the second Test, and will be rearing to go in the ICC World Test Championship Finals as well.

Related Story: Ramiz Raja compares Virat Kohli and Lionel Messi for this reason

WTC Final India Squad

Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed. Shami, Mohammed. Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha.

New Zealand Squad 

Kane Williamson (C), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Doug Bracewell, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryll Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (WK), Will Young.

Related Story: Yuvraj Singh picks his choice for openers in the WTC Final

Walli Siddiqui

Talking, articulating, presenting about a sport or a team you love is quite unparalleled, Hence, you can always find me here. P.S. An avid Manchester United fan.