Cricket News
| On Dec 12, 2021 2:10 PM IST

Virat Kohli ODI Captain: Who has most wins as captain in ODI?


Most wins as captain in ODI – Captains play a major role in shaping a team’s structure and atmosphere. Not only does bowling or fielding change but the captain also plays a huge role in a player’s career. Over the years many skippers have backed some players that failed initially but today are the world’s best players.

An example, in this case, is MS Dhoni, who backed batters like Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma after they had poor outings initially in their career. Different captains have a different perspective in leading their side. While some leading from the front many through the tactical changes brought great laurels to the team.

Most ODI wins as captain

Ever since BCCI sacked Virat Kohli as an Indian ODI skipper, talks related to captains have been hogging overs the headlines. Let’s have a look at captains with the most ODI wins:

The most successful captain in ODI cricket is Australian legend, Ricky Ponting. The former Australian skipper captained his side from 2002 to 2012 and recorded 165 wins in 230 matches with a win percentage of 76.14%.

The second on the list is India’s very own MS Dhoni. The wicket-keeper batter took over the captaincy reins in 2007 and led the nation till 2018. The World Cup-winning skipper led India to 110 wins in 200 ODIs with a win percentage of 59.52%.

Here’s the list of most successful ODI captain

Captain Matches Captained ODI Wins Win Percentage
Ricky Ponting 230 165 76.14
MS Dhoni 200 110 59.52
Allan Border 178 107 61.42
Hansie Cronje 138 99 73.70
Stephen Fleming 106 98 48.04
Graeme Smith 150 92 64.23
Mohammad Azharuddin 174 90 54.16
A Ranatunga 193 89 48.37
Sourav Ganguly 147 76 53.52
Imran Khan 139 75 55.92
Virat Kohli 95 65 70.43

Dhoni is followed by Australia’s Allan Border, who captained the nation from 1985-1994. Border won 107 ODIs from 178 games with a win percentage of 61.42%. The fourth captain with the most wins in ODI is South Africa’s Hansie Cronje with 99 wins to his name from 138 games at a win percentage of 73.70%.

New Zealand’s Stephen Fleming holds the fifth position in the list of captains with the most ODI wins. The former Black Caps skipper led his team to 98 wins during his tenure from 1997 to 2007. He had a win percentage of 48.04.

Arguably one of the best skippers of South Africa, Graeme Smith is next in the list with 92 wins under his belt. The southpaw recorded 92 wins in 150 matches with a win percentage of 64.23%.

Indian’s Mohammad Azharuddin, Sri Lanka’s A Ranatunga, Sourav Ganguly and Pakistan’s World Cup-winning skipper Imran Khan are next on the list with 90, 89, 76 and 75 ODI wins in 174, 193, 147 and 139 games respectively.

2019 ODI World Cup-winning skipper Eoin Morgan sits next in the list with 74 wins to his name in 124 games. He is followed by Steve Waugh and Viv Richards who have recorded 67 wins in 106 and 105 matches respectively.

Imran Khan who led Pakistan from 1982 to 1992 is next with 66 wins to his name from 109 matches. India’s outgoing skipper Virat Kohli is next with 65 wins to his name from 95 games. The premier Indian batter recorded 65 wins with a staggering win percentage of 70.43.

Related Highest Paid Players in IPL

Ankit Jit Singh

Dream was to play cricket, but job is to serve cricket