Wankhede Stadium Records: Take a look at Wankhede Stadium ODI records ahead of IND vs AUS 1st ODI

Updated on: Mar 15, 2023 1:58 pm IST

Wankhede Stadium Records

Wankhede Stadium Records: After a magnificent Test series, India and Australia are all set to collide in a 3 match ODI series starting from 17th March at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The ground has hosted numerous high-profile matches, including the 2011 World Cup final, and is known for its lively atmosphere and enthusiastic crowd.

Wankhede Stadium Records

The Wankhede Stadium has witnessed several high-scoring encounters in ODIs. The highest total recorded at this venue is 438/4, which was scored by South Africa against India in 2015. The Proteas put up a formidable batting display, with openers Hashim Amla and Quinton de Kock scoring centuries. In response, India fell short by 214 runs, with Rohit Sharma’s century being the lone highlight of their innings. Take a look at ODI numbers at Wankhede,

Record Stat
Total matches 27
Matches won batting first 13
Matches won bowling first 14
Average 1st Inns scores 240
Average 2nd Inns scores 201
Highest total recorded 438/4 (50 Ov) by RSA vs IND
Lowest total recorded 79/10 (27.1 Ov) by INDW vs AUSW
Highest score chased 284/4 (49 Ov) by NZ vs IND
Lowest score defended 192/9 (50 Ov) by WI vs IND

Wankhede Stadium Pitch

The red soil at Wankhede Stadium has always assisted the batters. The highest ODI score at this venue is 438/4 by South Africa against India in 2017. Batting is relatively easy here and bowlers find it tricky to contain the batters, especially with the short boundaries. With both teams possessing some natural strikers of the cricket ball, a run fest is expected on Wankhede Stadium pitch.

IND vs AUS ODI squads

India: Rohit Sharma (will be available after 1st ODI), Hardik Pandya (Captain for 1st ODI), Suryakumar Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ishan Kishan, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Axar Patel, KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, Shardul Thakur, Umran Malik, Jaydev Unadkat, Washington Sundar

Australia: Steve Smith (c), Alex Carey (wk), Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Adam Zampa

Related IND vs AUS 1st ODI Dream11 Prediction

Previous Article
Next Article