Categories: Cricket News
| On 4 weeks ago

Kane Williamson mistakenly shakes hand with Aaron Finch despite Coronavirus safety measures

During the first ODI of the three-match series between the trans-tasmanian rivals Australia and New Zealand, skippers Aaron Finch and Kane Williamson ditched handshakes and opted for elbow taps due to the coronavirus outbreak.

A handshake out of mistake

When the toss happened, both skippers did shake hands, however, immediately after, both Finch and Williamson laughed it off after doing so.

“A handshake out of habit, and then a quick joke, between the skippers #AUSvNZ,” tweeted.

Due to the coronavirus outbreak, most people are avoiding handshakes and are opting for fists bumps or ‘Namaste'. The governments of various nations and their sporting bodies have advised their sportspersons to avoid shaking hands.

Aussies to bat

In the ongoing first ODI at Sydney, Australia won the toss and opted to bat first. The entire series between both countries will be played behind closed doors due to coronavirus outbreak. The match saw a rare sight of an international cricketer going into the stands to bring the ball back. New Zealand pacer Lockie Ferguson went to fetch the ball from the stands as stands were empty.

Richardson to test for Covid-19

Before the start of the match, Australia got a big blow as Kane Richardson pulled out of the match. The pacer has been quarantined and tested for COVID-19 after reporting a sore throat. His results are still awaited.

Australia was recently white-washed by South Africa in the three-match ODI series, while New Zealand white-washed India in the 50-over format. But Aussies at home are stronger than anybody else. So it promises to be a highly competitive series.

Playing XI:

Australia playing XI: Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, D'Arcy Short, Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

New Zealand playing XI: Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), Jimmy Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult.

Midhun M Menon @MidhunMMenon25

An engineer who watches, plays and writes cricket.