Who won India vs New Zealand 1st ODI? Check IND vs NZ Man of the Match Award winner

Updated on: Jan 18, 2023 10:19 pm IST

  • India vs New Zealand

    India and New Zealand clashed with each other in the first game of the three-match series in Hyderabad. It was game that saw Indian batter Shubman Gill oozing his class and smashing double ton and bowlers complimenting his performance well to bag the game by the margin of 12 runs. It was a nail-bitter that went down the wire but hosts held their nerves well in the end to take 1-0 lead in the series.

    IND vs NZ 2023: India clinches nail-bitter by 12 runs to take 1-0 lead in series 

    India won the toss and opted to bat first. It was a great start by Rohit Sharma (34) and Shubman Gill as they posted 60 runs partnership for the opening wicket. But after that they kept losing wickets at regular intervals and were in a spot of bother. Gill then made sure he held one end and play a staggering innings to bail his team out of trouble. The right-hander smashed double century and ended with a score of 208 runs that help India post a total of 349 runs on the board.

    Chasing the target, New Zealand suffered an early blow as Mohammed Siraj removed Devon Conway for 10 runs. After the it was Kuldeep Yadav who outfoxed kiwi batters with his spin bowling and took wickets in middle along with Shardul Thakur to leave the opposition tottering at 131/6. Michael Bracewell then played the fighting knock and smashed century. He was supported well by Mitchell Santner who smashed 57 runs. But Mohammed Siraj bowled staggeringly well and bagged a four-wicket haul to tilt game in India’s favour.

    Bracewell (140) then continued his carnage on Indian bowlers and took the game deep. With 24 runs needed off the last 2 overs, Hardik Pandya removed Lockie Ferguson for 8 runs to add another turning point in. the game. Shardul Thakur then was given the responsibility to defend 20 runs in the last over, he went for six on the first ball and then trapped Bracewell in the LBW to win the game by 12 runs.

    IND vs NZ: Who won Man of the Match Award in first ODI between India and New Zealand  

    Indian batter Shubman Gill was awarded Man of the Match in the the first ODI against New Zealand. The right-hander played a staggering knock as he made mockery of Kiwi bowling attack and tonked them all over the park. He Gill batted for 149 balls and smashed 208 runs with the help of 19 fours and 9 sixes to become only the fifth Indian to smash a double century in the 50-over format, becoming the youngest ever to achieve the feat. 

    Previous Article
    Next Article