Who won India vs Sri Lanka 1st ODI? Check IND vs SL Man of the Match Award winner

Updated on: Jan 10, 2023 10:07 pm IST

  • India vs Sri Lanka

    IND vs SL 2023: India and Sri Lanka clashed with each other in first game of the three-ODI series in Guwahati. It was a game that saw premier Indian batters regaining their form and making runs for their team. The bowlers complimented them well as the hosts completed a comfortable 67-run win to take 1-0 lead in the series.

    IND vs SL 2023: India thumps Sri Lanka by 67 runs to take 1-0 lead in the series 

    Sri Lanka won the toss and put India to bat first. Their decision to chase didn’t pay off as openers Rohit Sharma (83) and Shubman Gill (70) stitched 143-run partnership for the first wicket and gave their team a staggering start.

    The openers laid a platform for Virat Kohli to ooze his class as he smashed his 45th ODI ton (113) and put his team in a comfortable position. A vital contributions from Shreyas Iyer (28), KL Rahul (39) and Hardik Pandya (14) in the end powered India to a total of 373 runs.

    Defending the target, Mohammad Siraj gave India a dream start as he removed Avishka Fernando (5) and Kusal Mendis (0) to leave Sri Lanka tottering at 23/2. But after that they kept chipping in with Umran Malik picking three wickets in the middle that saw the visitors tumbling at 179/7. Dasun Shanaka played a fighting innings and smashed an unbeaten century but that wasn’t enough. A superlative bowling performance saw hosts reduced opposition for just 306 runs and win the game by 67 runs to take 1-0 lead in the series.

    IND vs SL: Who won Man of the Match Award in first ODI between India and Sri Lanka 

    Indian batter Virat Kohli was awarded Man of the Match in the first ODI against Sri Lanka. The right-hander made mockery of Sri Lanka bowlers and smashed them all over the park. He smashed his 45th ODI ton, scoring 12 fours and 1 six and batted with a strike rate of over 129 to power his side to the total of 373 runs and subsequently win the game by 67 runs. 

    Previous Article
    Next Article