Who won India vs Sri Lanka 3rd T20I? Check IND vs SL Man of the Match Award winner

Updated on: Jan 5, 2023 11:00 pm IST

  • India vs Sri Lanka

    India and Sri Lanka locked horns in the second T20I of the three-match series in Pune. It was a game that saw batters of both the sides making a mockery of bowlers and taking them to cleaners. But the visitors proved out to better than hosts as they rattled their top order, which dented India’s chances of winning. Despite a little scare in the end, the Dasun Shanaka-led held their nerves well and closed the game to level the series 1-1.

    IND vs SL 2023: Sri LAnka thumps India by 16 runs to level the series 1-1 

    Hardik Pandya’s decision to bowl first, didn’t come off good as Indian bowlers were taken to cleaners right from the ball 1. It was a staggering start by the Sri Lanka openers Pathum Nissanka (36) and Kusal Mendis (52) as they smashed 80 runs.

    But after that Indian bowlers produce a magnificent effort and reduced Sri Lanka to 138/6. Just when it seemed India would restrict them to a low total, the visitors’ skipper Dasun Shanaka (56) smashed half-century in just 20 balls and took his team to a total of 206 runs. For hosts, Axar Patel was the pick of bowlers and returned with the figures of 2/24.

    In reply, India had a shaky start as they lost Ishan Kishan (2), Shubman Gill (5), Rahul Tripathi (5) and skipper Hardik Pandya (12) for just 34 runs. Things got even worse for them when they lost Deepak Hooda for 9 that saw them tumbling at 57/5.

    Suryakumar Yadav (51) and Axar Patel then led the fight back for their side and after being watchful initially then unleashed their beast mode and smashed Sri Lanka bowlers all over the park. They stitched  90 runs for the 7th wicket and raises hopes of Indian fans. But failed failed to finish the game for his side as holed one to mid on. Shivam Mavi then hit some lusty blows and brought game down to the last over with 21 runs needed. Axar perished for 65 and it ended the game right there for India as they suffered 16 runs loss in second game.

    IND vs SL: Who won Man of the Match Award in third T20I between India and Sri Lanka 

    Sri Lankan skipper Dasun Shanaka was awarded Man of the Match in the third T20I against India. The right-hander played one of his best innings as he helped his team put a mammoth total of 206 runs on the board. The lanky all-rounder scored unbeaten 56 runs in 22 balls with 254.55 strike rate. He also scored 2 fours and 6 sixes in his innings. He then bowled a staggering last over and defended 21 runs to take his side home.

    Previous Article
    Next Article