WI vs IND: Who won India vs West Indies 1st ODI? Check Man of the Match Award winner

Updated on: Jul 27, 2023 11:23 pm IST

Who won WI vs IND 1st ODI? Check Man of the Match award winner

Team India have managed to register a pretty comprehensive 5-wicket victory over West Indies in the opening ODI encounter being played at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados. The visitors completely dominated the proceedings both in the batting as well as bowling departments.  This is India’s ninth consecutive win against West Indies in ODI cricket. The Men in Blue have now taken a 1-0 lead in the IND vs WI three-match ODI series.

WI vs IND: Who won India vs West Indies 1st ODI? Check Man of the Match Award winner

There were a few brilliant performances from the Indian players both with the ball and bat in the India vs West Indies 1st ODI match. However, it was Kuldeep Yadav who stood on the top with remarkable bowling figures of 4 for 6 from just three overs that included two maidens as well. Therefore, Kuldeep was named the Man of the Match award winner in the WI vs IND 1st ODI match.

After having lost the toss and being asked to bat first, hosts West Indies got off to a horrible start at the top as they ended up losing as many as three wickets inside the first 10 overs. Barring skipper Shai Hope who scored 43 runs off 45 balls, the rest of the Windies batters failed to contribute much with the bat and they kept on losing wickets at regular intervals. Eventually, West Indies were bowled out for a paltry score of 114 runs in 23 overs.

For India, left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav bowled extremely well having taken as many as four wickets from just 3 overs which included a couple of maidens. Ravindra Jadeja also bowled really well as he took three vital wickets. The trio of Hardik Pandya, Mukesh Kumar and Shardul Thakur picked up a wicket each.

In reply, Indian team decided to open the batting with the pair of Ishan Kishan and Shubman Gill. After a poor form in the two Test matches, Gill once again failed to contribute much with the bat as he got dismissed early. Suryakumar Yadav was promoted at the No.3 position but he failed to convert his start of 19 runs that included 3 fours and 1 six. Hardik Pandya who came in at No. 4 spot, could only manage to score 5 runs off 7 deliveries.

However, Ishan utilised the opportunity very well having smashed an exceptional knock of 52 runs off 46 balls that included 7 fours and 1 six. Finally, India managed to successfully chase down the target in just 22.5 overs. The duo of Ravindra Jadeja and skipper Rohit Sharma remained unbeaten at the crease as India pulled off an easy win.

Never miss an update, visit Google News & FOLLOW US.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article