Fastest Century in T20. Check out complete list

Updated on: Jul 7, 2023 10:59 pm IST

Fastest Century in T20

Scoring the fastest century in T20 cricket is a remarkable achievement that showcases the incredible talent and skill of a batsman. Whether it occurs in a domestic T20 game, a franchise T20 league, or a T20 international match, a cricketer who displays unwavering passion and a hunger for a century often emerges as a true gem in the fast-paced 20-over format.

Fastest Century in T20

Player Opponents Balls faced Year
Chris Gayle Pune 30 2013
Rishabh Pant Himachal Pradesh 32 2018
Wihan Lubbe Limpopo 33 2018
Andrew Symonds Middlesex 34 2004
Dewald Brevis Knights 35 2022

One of the most iconic records in T20 cricket is held by Chris Gayle, a renowned power-hitting batsman known as the “Universe Boss.” Gayle’s unforgettable feat took place during the 2013 edition of the Indian T20 League when he demolished the Pune bowling attack in a breathtaking innings. In a display of sheer dominance, Gayle achieved the fastest century in T20 history, reaching the milestone in a mere 30 balls.

Gayle’s knock of 175 not out off just 66 deliveries remains the highest individual score in T20 cricket to date. His innings was an onslaught of boundaries and sixes, with an astounding 17 maximums and 13 fours. The Jamaican batsman’s incredible strike rate of over 266 left spectators in awe of his raw power and ability to decimate the opposition.

In addition to Gayle’s record-breaking performance, it is worth mentioning Rishabh Pant’s achievement as the fastest Indian centurion in T20 cricket. Pant, a promising young talent known for his aggressive batting style, etched his name in the record books during a Syed Mushtaq Ali match against Himachal Pradesh in 2018. Opening the innings for Delhi, Pant showcased his explosive abilities and reached his century in just 32 balls, surpassing the previous record held by Gautam Gambhir.

Former Indian cricketer Yusuf Pathan held the title of the fastest centurion in the Indian T20 League before Chris Gayle. In a 2010 match against Mumbai, Pathan’s Rajasthan team was struggling at 37-3 after seven overs, but his remarkable 37-ball century nearly led them to chase down a target of 213. Meanwhile, South Africa’s David Miller holds the record for the fastest century in T20 internationals, achieving it in just 35 balls against Bangladesh in 2017, despite being dropped on zero. Miller surpassed the previous record set by Richard Levi in 2012, who took 45 balls for his century against New Zealand. Notably, within two months, Indian opener Rohit Sharma equaled Miller’s record in a 2017 T20I against Sri Lanka in Indore, following his impressive third double-century in ODIs.

Never miss an update, visit Google News & FOLLOW US.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article