India declare squad for 4th Test; 3 spinners included

Published on: Jan 2, 2019 11:27 am IST|Updated on: Jan 2, 2019 11:27 am IST

Team India has given strong indications of playing more than one spinner at the SCG for the fourth Test against Australia. BCCI has announced a 13-member squad for the Test which includes three spinners R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav. KL Rahul is back in the team while Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been ignored once again.


Ashwin out and then in

In the recent days, BCCI and the team management have changed their statements and decisions several times. Another such incident happened when the squad for the 4th Test was announced.

R Ashwin was initially ruled out of the squad but a few hours later BCCI stated that the off-spinner has been included in the squad and the final decision on his place in the team will be taken on the morning of the Test.


Ishant Sharma out, Umesh In, Bhuvi a traveller 

India have also left out Ishant Sharma from the squad. Sharma played in all three Tests so far and fared decently.

He is replaced by Umesh Yadav who played in the second Test and was dropped for the third Test. Interestingly the team management has ignored Bhuvneshwar Kumar once again. Bhuvi didn’t feature in any Tests during this series and will finish the series while warming the benches.

The presence of Jadeja and Kuldeep means India may play two spinners. But at the same time India’a haven’t picked Hardik Pandya who could have worked as a third seamer.

The void created by Rohit Sharma’s absence will be filled by either KL Rahul or by the third seamer.


India’s 13-member squad for SCG Test-

Virat Kohli (C), A Rahane (VC), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, C Pujara, H Vihari, R Pant, R Jadeja, K Yadav, R Ashwin, M Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav


For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article