Categories: IPL 2021
| On Apr 8, 2021 9:04 PM IST

MI vs BLR 2021 IPL Match Today DETAILS


MI vs BLR 2021: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is all set to kickoff the highly-anticipated 14th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) from 9th April in Chennai. One of the most celebrated T20 league will start with the Mumbai Indians (MI) defending their crown against the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on April 9. Both these quality teams will be hoping to start the tournament on a high.

Related: MI vs RCB Head to Head

MI vs BLR 2021

In the absence of Quinton de Kock due to the mandatory quarantine period, Chris Lynn will most likely slot in as the second opener with skipper Rohit Sharma atleast for the first game against RCB. MI have a great middle-order with the likes of Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan with the trio of Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya and Krunal Pandya as the finishers. Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult and Nathan Coulter-Nile will form part of the pace bowling attack with Rahul Chahar and Krunal as the two spinners.

MI Playing (likely)
Rohit Sharma (C)
Chris Lynn
Suryakumar Yadav
Ishan Kishan (wk)
Kieron Pollard
Hardik Pandya
Krunal Pandya
Nathan Coulter-Nile
Rahul Chahar
Trent Boult
Jasprit Bumrah

On the other hand, the Royal Challengers Bangalore also needs to make some tough choices to pick their starting XI. RCB captain Virat Kohli is likely to open the innings with Mohammed Azharuddeen. The likes of AB de Villiers, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Christian and Rajat Patidar will form part of the middle-order. The duo of Yuzvendra Chahal and Washington Sundar will be the spinners and Kyle Jamieson, Navdeep Saini and Mohammed Siraj will take care of the fast bowling department.

BLR Playing 11 (likely)
Virat Kohli (C)
Mohammed Azharuddeen
AB de Villiers (wk)
Glenn Maxwell
Daniel Christian
Rajat Patidar
Washington Sundar
Kyle Jamieson
Navdeep Saini
Mohammed Siraj
Yuzvendra Chahal

Related: MI vs RCB 2021 Pitch Report

IPL 2021 Start Date

Five of the South African cricketers namely Quinton de Kock, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, David Miller and Lungi Ngidi will not be available atleast for the first game this season for their respective IPL teams. The trio of Devdutt Padikkal, Axar Patel and Daniel Sams have tested positive for COVID-19 and thus, they will only be able to take part in IPL 2021 after complete recovery while abiding all the necessary BCCI protocols.

For more IPL news, click here

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.