Categories: IPL 2021
| On Sep 15, 2021 12:19 AM IST

Strongest DC Playing 11 IPL 2021 in 2nd Phase


Delhi Capitals have been one of the improved teams in the last few years of IPL. After struggling in the initial years, the team has transformed themselves into a formidable one since Shreyas Iyer has taken up captaincy. They finished last in 2018 season but since then, they have become a force to reckon with. DC finished 3rd in 2019 while in 2020, they reached the IPL finals for the first time. The team had an excellent first phase of IPL 2021 and they will look to take the momentum into the second phase.

DC Batsman in IPL 2021

Player Name Matches Runs Batting Avg. Strike Rate Highest Score
Shikhar Dhawan 8 380 54.28 134.27 92
Prithvi Shaw 8 308 38.50 166.48


Rishabh Pant

8 213 35.50 131.48 58*
Steve Smith 6 104 26 111.82 34*
Shimron Hetmyer 6 84 84 204.87 53*
Marcus Stoinis 8 71 23.66 144.89 27*
Lalit Yadav 5 54 54 98.18 22*

The Capitals had one of the best opening pairs of the first phase of IPL 2021. Shikhar Dhawan wasn’t only DC best batsman but he also emerged as the highest overall run- scorer. Prithvi Shaw was one DC batsman who gave the team flying starts and made full use of the powerplay. Allrounder Marcus Stoinis will look for some form before going to T20 World Cup. With skipper Shreyas Iyer returning to the team and explosive Rishabh Pant in the middle order, the batting order looks solid for the second phase.

DC Bowlers in IPL 2021

Player Name

Matches Wickets Bowling Avg. Econ. Rate Best Figures
Kagiso Rabada 7 8 28.50 8.76


Avesh Khan

8 14 16.50 7.70 3/32
Axar Patel 4 6 18.66 7


Chris Woakes

3 5 16.40 7.45 2/18
Amit Mishra 4 6 18.16 7.78


R Ashwin

5 1 147 7.73


DC bowlers 2021 performance will decide the team’s fate in the second phase. South African speedster Kagiso Rabada is the leader of the pack and has been among DC best bowlers for some time now. Avesh Khan was a huge surprise package in the first phase as he emerged as the highest wicket-taker for his team.  The spin department looks solid with the return of R Ashwin to the mix. Along with Ashwin, they also have the experience and skills of Amit Mishra and Axar Patel.

DC Middle Order in IPL 2021

  • Shreyas Iyer
  • Rishabh Pant
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • Shimron Hetmyer
  • Steve Smith
  • Axar Patel
  • Lalit Yadav

The above players are all the middle order batsmen of Delhi Capitals. DC batsman 2021 performance in the first phase was a decent one thanks to their openers Dhawan and Shaw. But the middle order would like to contribute more in crunch situations. The likes of Pant, Stoinis and Hetmyer will be crucial. Shimron Hetmyer looked in excellent hitting form in the first phase. Shreyas Iyer’s return will strengthen the batting order in the second phase.

DC IPL 2021 2nd Phase All Players List

Rishabh Pant (C) (wk), Ajinkya Rahane, Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Avesh Khan, Ishant Sharma, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Praveen Dubey, Lalit Yadav, Amit Mishra, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Marcus Stoinis, Ben Dwarshuis, Shimron Hetmyer, Sam Billings (wk), Tom Curran, Lukman Meriwala, M Siddharth, Vishnu Vinod (wk), Ripal Patel, Umesh Yadav, Steve Smith.

Shreyas Iyer returns to the side for the second phase after recovering from shoulder injury that kept him out of the first phase. England fast bowler Chris Woakes has withdrawn recently from the second phase and DC have signed Australian quick Ben Dwarshuis as his replacement. With most players likely to be available, the team management will have a tough task to select the best DC playing 11 2021 for the second phase.

READ: DC Sign Ben Dwarshuis as Replacement for Chris Woakes in the UAE Leg of IPL 2021


Who is the next captain of DC 2021?

Rishabh Pant is the vice-captain of the side currently and also led the side in the absence of Iyer in the first phase. He is young, talented and is in good form in international cricket. In the upcoming years, Pant has all the capabilities to be a big player in Indian cricket as well as for Delhi Capitals. This makes him a perfect player to replace Iyer whenever the need arises.

Shreyas Iyer is the current captain of Delhi Capitals. Rishabh Pant led the side in the first phase and Delhi topped the points table under him. Pant is expected to lead the team in the second phase too.

Can DC qualify for playoffs 2021?

DC is currently at the top of the points table and looks set to qualify for another playoffs. Two more wins could guarantee them a place to the next stage. Delhi have 6 wins out of 8 to their name currently. They looked in great form with both bat and ball in the first phase. Despite missing key players like Ashwin and Iyer, the team found ways to win. With both of them likely to return now, their playing 11 looks strong. They will be one of the topmost contenders to lift the trophy.

Which is the next match of DC?

Delhi Capitals will play their next match against Sunrisers Hyderabad on 22 September, 2021. The match will be played at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai. This will be the first match for both the teams in the second phase of IPL 2021. Both teams played out a thriller in the first leg of IPL 2021 in which the match went to the Super Over. The Capitals won the match and collected two crucial points.

DC will look to continue the momentum and start the second phase on a high. After the Sunrisers, Delhi Capitals will face Rajasthan Royals and Kolkata Knight Riders in their next two matches.

READ: Strongest Mumbai Indians Playing 11 IPL 2021 in 2nd Phase