2015 IPL final scorecard: Who won the IPL 2015 Trophy?

Updated on: Feb 13, 2023 1:47 pm IST

2015 IPL final scorecard

2015 IPL final scorecard: The Mumbai Indians were triumphant in their quest for Indian Premier League glory as they defeated the Chennai Super Kings by a massive 41 runs at Eden Gardens. This victory marked the second championship win for the Mumbai Indians in just three seasons. The Mumbai Indians batsmen dominated the game and set a formidable target of 202 for 5 in their first innings. Lendl Simmons played a crucial role with his blistering 68 runs while the skipper, Rohit Sharma, also played a key role with his quick-fire 50 runs from just 26 balls. This comprehensive victory was a result of a cohesive effort from the Mumbai Indians and highlights their dominance in the Indian Premier League.

2015 IPL final scorecard: Who won the IPL 2015 Trophy?

In the 2015 IPL final scorecard, the Chennai Super Kings won the toss and elected to field first in the highly anticipated Indian Premier League final against the Mumbai Indians. The Super Kings were hoping to make a quick impact and their captain, MS Dhoni’s decision was put to the test early on in the match. In the fifth ball, Parthiv Patel was run out, giving Chennai a much-needed boost and putting early pressure on the Mumbai Indians.

However, the Super Kings’ early advantage was quickly neutralized by a 119-run partnership between Lendl Simmons and Mumbai Indians captain, Rohit Sharma. Simmons, who is from the West Indies, started the partnership with a more reserved approach, taking his time to get himself in and find his feet. On the other hand, Sharma had a free hand and took full advantage of this by playing with an attacking mindset.

The Super Kings’ bowlers tried their best to break the partnership, but the duo’s excellent batting display proved too much to handle. Simmons’ 68 runs and Sharma’s 26-ball 50 were the backbone of the Mumbai Indians’ first innings total of 202 for five. The massive total put Chennai in a difficult position, leaving them with too much work to do in their innings. The Super Kings were unable to replicate the batting performance of their opponents and fell 41 runs short, resulting in the Mumbai Indians being crowned Indian Premier League champions for the second time in three seasons.

Cricket commentator Harsha Bhogle observed that Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma responded to the worst possible start to their innings in the Indian Premier League final against Chennai Super Kings with a swagger. Sharma was given the license to play his shots, and he made the most of the opportunity, blasting a 26-ball 50 to lead the charge for the Mumbai team. His departure in the 12th over was a setback for the Indians, but Lendl Simmons stepped up and took the mantle from the skipper. The West Indies player was more reserved initially, but he grew in confidence and ended up scoring 68 from just 45 balls, hitting eight fours and three sixes in the 2015 IPL final scorecard.

The loss of Simmons just a ball after Sharma’s departure gave Chennai a glimmer of hope, but two more brilliant cameos from Kieron Pollard and Ambati Rayudu kept the momentum with Mumbai. Pollard was at his destructive best, scoring 18-ball 36, while Rayudu remained unbeaten, scoring 36 from 24 balls. These contributions helped Mumbai post an imposing total of 202 for five from 20 overs, which represented a significant challenge for Chennai to chase down.

Despite the presence of some of the world’s most dynamic players in the Chennai batting lineup, chasing down the total would have been an astounding achievement. The Super Kings put up a brave fight, but the task proved too difficult, as they fell 41 runs short of the target. The victory was a testament to the batting prowess of the Mumbai Indians and the resilience they displayed in the face of adversity.

2015 IPL Final Scorecard

Mumbai Indians

Batter Method of Dismissal Runs Balls 4s 6s Strike Rate
Lendl Simmons b Dwayne Smith 68 45 8 3 151.11
Parthiv Patel run out (du Plessis) 0 3 0 0 0.00
Rohit Sharma c R Jadeja b DJ Bravo 50 26 6 2 192.31
Kieron Pollard c Raina b Mohit Sharma 36 18 2 3 200.00
Ambati Rayudu not out 36 24 0 3 150.00
Hardik Pandya c Raina b DJ Bravo 0 2 0 0 0.00
Harbhajan Singh not out 6 3 0 1 200.00
Extras 6 (b 1, lb 4, w 0, nb 1, p 0)
Total 202 (5 wkts, 20 Ov)

Fall of Wickets: 1-1 (Parthiv Patel, 0.5) 120-2 (Rohit, 11.6) 120-3 (L Simmons, 12.1) 191-4 (Pollard, 18.5) 191-5 (Hardik Pandya, 19.2)

Bowler Overs Maidens Runs Wickets NB WD Economy
Ashish Nehra 4 0 41 0 0 1 10.25
Mohit Sharma 4 0 38 1 1 0 9.50
Ravichandran Ashwin 2 0 21 1 0 1 10.50
Ravindra Jadeja 2 0 26 0 0 0 13.00
Pawan Negi 2 0 18 0 0 0 9.00
Dwayne Bravo 4 0 36 2 0 2 9.00


Chennai Super Kings

Batter RB 4s 6s SR
Dwayne Smith 57 4 8 118.75
Michael Hussey 49 1 0 44.44
Suresh Raina 28 1 9 147.37
MS Dhoni 18 1 3 138.46
Dwayne Bravo 9 6 0 150.00
Pawan Negi 3 5 0 60.00
Faf du Plessis 1 3 0 33.33
Ravindra Jadeja 11 8 1 137.50
Ravichandran Ashwin 2 4 0 50.00
Mohit Sharma 2 1 7 300.00

Extras | 7 (b 0, lb 2, w 3, nb 2, p 0) Total | 161 (8 wkts, 20 Ov) Did not Bat | Ashish Nehra

Fall of Wickets | 22-1 (M Hussey, 4.4) 88-2 (Dwayne Smith, 11.5) 99-3 (Raina, 13.3) 108-4 (DJ Bravo, 14.3) 124-5 (Dhoni, 15.5) 125-6 (du Plessis, 16.2) 134-7 (Negi, 17.3) 137-8 (Ashwin, 18.2)

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article