Biggest Six in IPL ft. Albie Morkel, Chris Gayle & Robin Uthappa

Updated on: Feb 14, 2023 2:00 pm IST

Big six in IPL

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has been a platform for many big-hitting players to showcase their power and strength with the bat. Over the years, the tournament has witnessed some incredible sixes that have left the crowd in awe. From Albie Morkel’s mammoth 125-meter hit to Chris Gayle’s consistent big hits, here is a look at the Biggest Six in IPL history.

Albie Morkel, 125 meters, CSK v Deccan Chargers, 2008, MA Chidambaram Stadium

The South African all-rounder, Albie Morkel, tops the list of biggest sixes in IPL history with a massive 125-meter hit. He achieved this feat while playing for Chennai Super Kings against Deccan Chargers in the first edition of the tournament in 2008. Morkel was a fiery all-rounder who could take the new ball and play the role of a finisher equally well. His ability to hit big sixes made him a valuable player for any team he played for in the IPL. The 125-meter hit is not only the biggest six in IPL history but also one of the longest sixes ever recorded in any form of cricket.

Praveen Kumar, 124 meters, RCB v Rajasthan Royals, 2008, M Chinnaswamy Stadium

The second-longest six in IPL history was hit by medium-pacer Praveen Kumar, who smashed Yusuf Pathan for a 124-meter hit over long-on while playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Rajasthan Royals in 2008. Praveen was known for his ability to swing the ball and bowl tight spells, but on this occasion, he showed that he could also bat and hit the ball a long way. The 124-meter hit is still one of the most memorable moments in the history of the IPL.

Adam Gilchrist, 122 meters, KXIP v RCB, 2011, Dharamsala

Australian great Adam Gilchrist is widely regarded as one of the best wicket-keeper batsmen of all time, and he proved his big-hitting abilities in the IPL as well. While playing for Kings XI Punjab against Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2011 in Dharamsala, Gilchrist smashed a 122-meter six off Charl Langeveldt that sailed out of the ground and was running down the hill. Gilchrist was known for his aggressive batting style and was feared by opposition bowlers. His 122-meter six was a testament to his power and timing.

Related Who will win IPL 2023?

Robin Uthappa, 120 meters, RCB v Mumbai Indians, 2010, Brabourne Stadium

Robin Uthappa is known for his stylish stroke play and his ability to score runs quickly, but he surprised everyone with a mammoth 120-meter six while playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Mumbai Indians in 2010. Uthappa relied heavily on timing, but he showed that he could also hit the ball a long way when the situation demanded it. The 120-meter hit was one of the highlights of his IPL career and is still remembered by fans as one of the biggest sixes in the tournament’s history.

Chris Gayle, 119 meters, RCB v Pune Warriors, 2013, M Chinnaswamy Stadium

No list of big sixes in the IPL would be complete without the mention of Chris Gayle. The Jamaican powerhouse is the most prolific six-hitter in the history of the tournament, with 357 sixes to his name. Gayle’s fifth-longest six in the IPL came against Ashok Dinda of the now-defunct Pune Warriors India in 2013, when

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article