Hat trick in IPL: List of players to take hat trick in IPL

Updated on: Feb 25, 2023 12:48 pm IST

Hat trick in IPL

Hat trick in IPL: In IPL, a bowler’s exceptional performance can change the game’s outcome quickly, especially if they manage to take a hat-trick during the innings. A hat-trick can be a significant setback for the opposition team as it becomes difficult for them to recover from the sudden loss of wickets. However, hat-tricks are relatively rare in IPL, with some seasons passing without a single instance of a bowler achieving one. In contrast, there have been some seasons where multiple bowlers have taken hat-tricks. In this article, we will provide a comprehensive list of all the Hat trick in IPL history.

Hat trick in IPL

Lakshmipathy Balaji made history by taking the first-ever Hat trick in IPL. In the inaugural season, he produced an excellent spell against the Punjab team, taking five wickets for 24 runs in four overs. Balaji’s hat-trick was a significant milestone in the tournament’s history, and it set the standard for future bowlers to strive towards. However, he wasn’t the only bowler to achieve this feat that season, as both Amit Mishra and Makhaya Ntini also took hat-tricks in the same season.

The second season of IPL was notable for the unusual nature of the hat-tricks taken, as non-regular bowlers managed to achieve this feat. Yuvraj Singh, who is primarily a batsman, surprised everyone by taking two hat-tricks while playing for the Punjab team in 2009. His impressive performances helped Punjab qualify for the semi-finals that season. Rohit Sharma, who is now one of the best batsmen in the world, also took a hat-trick during the same season. He achieved this feat while playing for the Hyderabad team, proving that he was a talented all-rounder.

The IPL has seen some incredible bowling performances over the years, with a handful of bowlers achieving the rare feat of taking a hat-trick in the tournament. The first-ever hat-trick in IPL history was taken by Lakshmipathy Balaji in the inaugural season of the tournament in 2008. Balaji bowled a superb spell against the Punjab team, taking five wickets for 24 runs in his four overs. Amit Mishra and Makhaya Ntini were the other two bowlers who picked up a hat-trick in the same season.

The second season of IPL was quite unique in terms of hat-tricks, with non-regular bowlers achieving the landmark. Yuvraj Singh picked up two hat-tricks while playing for Punjab in 2009, while Rohit Sharma also took a hat-trick while playing for Hyderabad.

Related: Most expensive player in IPL history

In the next three years, three bowlers were successful in taking a hat-trick in each season. Praveen Kumar achieved the feat in 2010, followed by Amit Mishra in 2011 and Ajit Chandila in 2012. Amit Mishra again took a hat-trick in 2013, along with Sunil Narine who bowled brilliantly for the Kolkata Knight Riders team.

In 2014, both the players who took a hat-trick were from Rajasthan Royals. Shane Watson and Pravin Tambe picked up a hat-trick against SRH and KKR, respectively. In 2016, Axar Patel played for the Punjab team and bowled a brilliant spell of 4/21, including a hat-trick against Gujarat Lions.

In IPL 2017, there were three hat-tricks that occurred, with Jaydev Unadkat, Andrew Tye, and Samuel Badree achieving the special landmark. Among them, Badree delivered the most economical spell, picking up four wickets for only nine runs in four overs. The last set of hat-tricks in the IPL happened in the 2019 season when Shreyas Gopal and Sam Curran had some great games with the ball.

In the 2021 season of the IPL, Harshal Patel of Royal Challengers Bangalore achieved a hat-trick against the Mumbai Indians. Patel dismissed Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, and Rahul Chahar in the first three balls of the 16th over to join the list of elite bowlers who have achieved this feat in the IPL.

Related: Who is GOAT of IPL?

In the 2022 season of the IPL, Yuzvendra Chahal took a hat-trick while playing for the Rajasthan Royals against Kolkata Knight Riders. Chahal turned the high-scoring thriller on its head in the 17th over of the game, picking up four wickets in six deliveries. He sent back the likes of Shreyas Iyer, Shivam Mavi, and Pat Cummins off successive deliveries and also registered a five-wicket haul. It was a brilliant performance by Chahal, and one that will be remembered for a long time to come.

Player Dismissals Final Bowling Figures Opposition Year
Lakshmipathy Balaji Irfan Pathan, Piyush Chawla, VRV Singh 5/24 Kings XI Punjab 2008
Amit Mishra Ravi Teja, Pragyan Ojha, RP Singh 5/17 Deccan Chargers 2008
Makhaya Ntini Sourav Ganguly, DB Das, David Hussey 4/21 Kolkata Knight Riders 2008
Yuvraj Singh Robin Uthappa, Jacques Kallis, Mark Boucher 3/22 Royal Challengers Bangalore 2009
Rohit Sharma Abhishek Nayar, Harbhajan Singh, JP Duminy 4/6 Mumbai Indians 2009
Yuvraj Singh Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Symonds, Venugopal Rao 3/13 Deccan Chargers 2009
Praveen Kumar Damien Martyn, S Narwal, P Dogra 3/18 Rajasthan Royals 2010
Amit Mishra R McLaren, Mandeep Singh, Ryan Harris 4/9 Kings XI Punjab 2011
Ajit Chandila Jessie Ryder, Sourav Ganguly, Robin Uthappa 4/13 Pune Warriors 2012
Sunil Narine David Hussey, Azhar Mahmood, Gurkeerat Singh 3/33 Kings XI Punjab 2013
Amit Mishra Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rahul Sharma, Ashok Dinda 4/19 Pune Warriors 2013
Pravin Tambe Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Ryan ten Doeschate 3/26 Kolkata Knight Riders 2014
Shane Watson Shikhar Dhawan, Moises Henriques, Karn Sharma 3/13 Sunrisers Hyderabad 2014
Axar Patel Dinesh Karthik, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja 4/21 Gujarat Lions 2016
Samuel Badree Parthiv Patel, Mitchell McClenaghan, Rohit Sharma 4/9 Mumbai Indians 2017
Andrew Tye Ankit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Shardul Thakur 5/17 Rising Pune Supergiants 2017
Jaydev Unadkat Bipul Sharma, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 5/30 Sunrisers Hyderabad 2017
Sam Curran Harshal Patel, Kagiso Rabada, Sandeep Lamichhane 4/11 Delhi Capitals 2019
Shreyas Gopal Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Marcus Stoinis 3/12 Royal Challengers Bangalore 2019
Harshal Patel Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Rahul Chahar 4/17 Mumbai Indians 2021
Yuzvendra Chahal Shreyas Iyer, Shivam Mavi, Pat Cummins 5/40 Kolkata Knight Riders 2022
For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article