IPL 2010 final scorecard: Who won the Indian Premier League 2010 season?

Updated on: Feb 26, 2023 1:20 pm IST

IPL 2010 final scorecard

IPL 2010 final scorecard: The Indian Premier League (IPL) returned to its home country, India, in 2010 after a successful season in South Africa. This edition of the tournament brought several new changes in its organization and management, which set it apart from previous seasons. The IPL became a trailblazer in cricket by becoming the first cricket tournament to be broadcast live on YouTube. This decision expanded the IPL’s reach to a global audience, giving cricket fans around the world an opportunity to watch live matches. Additionally, the tournament also expanded to five new venues, including Nagpur, Cuttack, Mumbai, Ahmedabad, and Dharamsala, which allowed fans from these cities to witness the live-action of IPL matches. These changes proved beneficial to the tournament as it continued to grow in popularity and became a major source of entertainment for cricket enthusiasts worldwide. Overall, the 2010 edition of the IPL paved the way for innovation in cricket and continued to push the boundaries of what is possible in the world of sports.

IPL 2010 final scorecard

The Indian Premier League (IPL) returned to India in 2010 after a successful season in South Africa. The tournament marked several new beginnings in terms of its organization and management. It became the first-ever cricket tournament to be broadcast live on YouTube, expanding its reach to fans worldwide. Additionally, the tournament added five new venues to the mix, including Nagpur, Cuttack, Mumbai, Ahmedabad, and Dharamsala, giving fans in these cities an opportunity to experience the thrill of live cricket and help the tournament’s growth and popularity.

The 2010 IPL season was a turning point in the tournament’s history, setting the stage for a decade of success and growth. The tournament has since grown in popularity and is now regarded as one of the premier T20 cricket leagues in the world. With its innovative approach to the game, the IPL continues to attract fans from all over the world, making it a true spectacle of cricket and entertainment.

The 2010 season was also significant as it featured a third-place playoff for the first time in IPL history. The playoff served as a qualifier for the Champions League, providing teams with an opportunity to continue their journey towards glory. This move was well-received by fans and players alike and has since become a staple of the IPL format.

The group stage of the 2010 IPL season was dominated by the Mumbai Indians, who emerged as the superior side by a significant margin. Their impressive performance saw them top the table with 20 points, showcasing their dominance over their competitors. Meanwhile, the defending champions, Deccan Chargers, continued their winning streak and secured the second spot with 16 points.

Related: IPL 2011 final scorecard

However, the remaining two spots were highly contested among four teams – Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kolkata Knight Riders, and Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals). With all four teams finishing on 14 points each, it was a close race to the finish line. The final decision came down to the run rate, and by a slender margin, RCB and CSK were able to secure their place in the semi-finals.

The competition was intense, and every team fought tooth and nail to secure their place in the knockout stage. The close contest between the four teams added to the excitement and thrill of the tournament, and fans were left on the edge of their seats as the final decision was made. The group stage was a testament to the high level of competitiveness in the IPL and the determination of the teams to win.

The Mumbai Indians entered the final of the 2010 Indian Premier League as clear favorites, with Sachin Tendulkar in remarkable form. On the other hand, Chennai Super Kings, who were playing in their first final, had their work cut out for them. The stage was set for a thrilling showdown between two of the strongest teams in the tournament.

The 2010 IPL winner, Chennai Super Kings, got off to a strong start, with Suresh Raina scoring a blistering 57 off 35 balls in the IPL 2010 final scorecard. With this performance, they were able to set a target of 168/5 for the Mumbai Indians. In response, Tendulkar once again provided a solid start for his team, scoring 48. However, despite his efforts, Mumbai Indians struggled to maintain their momentum as they lost wickets at regular intervals. The Chennai Super Kings’ bowlers, Shadab Jakati, Muttiah Muralitharan, Doug Bollinger, and Albie Morkel, put in a remarkable performance, each getting a wicket, and helped secure their maiden title.

The Chennai Super Kings emerged as the 2010 IPL winner, beating the Mumbai Indians by 22 runs. The final was a fitting end to a thrilling season, with both teams putting in their best effort in the IPL 2010 final scorecard. 

Related: Who is best IPL Captain?

Chennai Super Kings innings

Batsman R B 4s 6s SR
Srikkanth Anirudha 63 10 2 0 200.00
MS Dhoni 22 15 2 1 146.67
Albie Morkel 15 6 1 2 250.00
Suresh Raina 57 35 5 2 162.86
S Badrinath 14 11 1 1 127.27
Matthew Hayden 17 31 1 1 54.84
Murali Vijay 26 19 1 2 136.84
Extras 11
Total 168 120 13 9 140.00
Bowler O M R W NB WD Econ
Kieron Pollard 4 0 45 1 0 1 11.25
Dilhara Fernando 4 0 23 0 0 2 5.75
Lasith Malinga 4 0 33 0 0 0 8.25
Zaheer Khan 4 0 34 1 0 1 8.50
Harbhajan Singh 4 0 30 0 0 0 7.50

Mumbai Indians innings

Batter R B 4s 6s SR
Saurabh Tiwary c Raina b Jakati 0 2 0 0
Harbhajan Singh lbw b Raina 1 2 0 0
Ambati Rayudu run out (Vijay/Dhoni/Morkel) 21 14 1 1
Shikhar Dhawan c Dhoni b Bollinger 8 8 0 0
Sachin Tendulkar c Vijay b Jakati 48 45 4 1
Abhishek Nayar run out (Dhoni) 27 26 1 2
Lasith Malinga not out 11 10 0 1
Dilhara Fernando not out 2 2 0 0
Kieron Pollard c Hayden b Morkel 27 10 3 2
Zaheer Khan run out (Ashwin/Dhoni) 1 3 0 0
Jean-Paul Duminy c Jakati b Muralitharan 6 7 0 0
Extras 12 1 6
Total 146 9 wkts, 20 Ov
Bowler O M R W NB WD Eco
Albie Morkel 3 0 20 1 0 1 6.67
Muttiah Muralitharan 4 0 17 0 0 4 4.25
Shadab Jakati 3 0 26 2 0 0 8.67
Suresh Raina 2 0 21 1 0 1 10.5
Doug Bollinger 4 0 31 1 0 1 7.75
Ravichandran Ashwin 4 1 24 1 0 0 6.0
For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article