IPL history fastest ball: Check out fastest bowling speed in IPL

Published on: Feb 28, 2023 1:19 pm IST|Updated on: Feb 28, 2023 1:19 pm IST

IPL history fastest ball

IPL history fastest ball: The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a well-known professional cricket league that has been entertaining cricket fans worldwide since its inception in 2008. It has been an excellent platform for young and aspiring cricketers to showcase their talent and gain recognition. The league has witnessed some of the IPL history fastest ball and bowlers in the world who have delivered thunderbolts, leaving batters flummoxed.

IPL history fastest ball

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is an annual cricket event that attracts fans from around the world. As one of the most prestigious Twenty20 cricket leagues, it features some of the best cricketers from different nations. Not only does the IPL provide a platform for established players to showcase their skills, but it also offers an opportunity for young and aspiring cricketers to make a name for themselves in the world of cricket.

One of the most exciting aspects of the IPL is the pace bowling. The league has seen some of the fastest bowlers in the world who have sent down thunderbolts that have left the batters flummoxed. The IPL has provided an opportunity for many of these pace bowlers to shine on the world stage.

Shaun Tait is one such bowler who holds the record for the IPL history fastest ball. The Australian pacer played for the Rajasthan Royals in four seasons (2010-2013) and picked up 23 wickets in a total of 21 games. Tait’s speed and bounce were his major weapons, and he had the ability to rattle the batters with sheer speed. During the 2011 season of the IPL, Tait sent down a blistering delivery at 157.7 kmph, which is still the fastest ball in IPL history. Despite his pace, Tait’s career was plagued by injuries, which eventually forced him to retire from all forms of cricket. However, his record of bowling the fastest ball in the IPL still stands even after a decade.

Related: Fastest century in IPL history

In 2021, a young Indian pacer named Umran Malik caught the attention of cricket fans across the country with his raw pace and accuracy. Malik made his IPL debut in 2021 and played just three matches for Sunrisers Hyderabad. He picked up two wickets and impressed everyone with his speed. Malik’s impressive showing in the IPL earned him a call-up to the Indian team as a net bowler for the T20 World Cup. However, it was in the 2022 season of the IPL where Malik made headlines for his pace. In a match against Delhi’s Rovman Powell, Malik bowled the fastest delivery of the tournament, clocking 157 kmph. The Jammu-Kashmir pacer has been consistently bowling fast balls in the tournament and has become one of the most exciting young talents in the IPL.

Apart from Tait and Malik, there have been a few other bowlers who have come close to breaking the record for the fastest ball in the IPL. Anrich Nortje, the South African speedster, is one such bowler. Nortje plays for Delhi Capitals since the 2020 season of the IPL and bowled a delivery at 156.22kmph in the 2020 season, which is the second-fastest ball in IPL history. Nortje is known for his pace and accuracy, and he has been a valuable asset to the Delhi Capitals team. He has picked up 43 wickets in 30 matches for the franchise.

Another bowler who came close to breaking the record for the fastest ball in the IPL is Varun Aaron. Aaron played for Delhi Daredevils in the 2015 season of the IPL and bowled a delivery at 153.4 kmph, which is the third-fastest ball in the IPL. Aaron is known for his ability to generate pace and his natural ability to swing the ball. He has played for several IPL teams and has picked up 47 wickets in a total of 55 matches. Despite his impressive performances, Aaron has struggled with injuries, which have hampered his progress in recent years.

Rank Bowler Team Top Speed (kmph)
1 Shaun Tait Rajasthan Royals 157.71 kmph
2 Umran Malik Sunrisers Hyderabad 157 kmph
3 Anrich Nortje Delhi Capitals 156.22 kmph
4 Umran Malik Sunrisers Hyderabad 156 kmph
5 Anrich Nortje Delhi Capitals 155.1 kmph

Related: Most expensive player in IPL history

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article