Mumbai Indians captain list: List of MI Captain in IPL history

Updated on: Mar 14, 2023 6:35 pm IST

Mumbai Indians captain list

In 2008, a new cricket league known as the Indian Premier League (IPL) was set to begin. Mumbai Indians (MI) were already a well-established team in Indian cricket and had a reputation for being one of the most successful franchises in the country. As a result, MI was the most expensive franchise sold at the league’s inception, with Reliance Industries Ltd owner Mukesh Ambani purchasing the team for a whopping $111.9 million.

As the IPL’s inaugural season approached, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) selected four legendary Indian cricketers to play for each of the country’s franchises. Sachin Tendulkar, widely regarded as one of the greatest batsmen in the history of the sport, was chosen to lead MI starting the Mumbai Indians captain list.

Mumbai Indians captain list

The following is a Mumbai Indians captain list for each IPL season from 2008 to 2023. It includes the name of the captain who led the team in each respective year of the tournament.

The Mumbai Indians (MI) franchise in the Indian Premier League (IPL) has had a tumultuous journey since its inception in 2008. The period from 2010 to 2012 marked the franchise’s rise, as the team, with Sachin Tendulkar’s guidance, continually qualified for the playoffs. However, the search for their first IPL title seemed to be a long and exhausting process.

In the inaugural season of the IPL in 2008, Sachin Tendulkar was selected as MI’s first captain. Despite having some of the most talented players in their squad, the team failed to find their rhythm and finished at the bottom of the points table. The following year, in 2009, MI showed some improvement and finished in seventh place.

It was in 2010 that the Mumbai Indians began to show their true potential. With Sachin Tendulkar still leading the team, they won their first five matches of the season, and with some crucial contributions from key players like Lasith Malinga, Kieron Pollard, and Ambati Rayudu, MI qualified for the playoffs for the first time in their history.

However, in the playoffs, MI faced a tough challenge against the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), led by Virat Kohli. In a thrilling encounter, MI emerged victorious, with Pollard playing a crucial role in the team’s win with his powerful hitting.

In the final, MI faced off against the Chennai Super Kings (CSK), who were led by MS Dhoni. Despite a valiant effort from Tendulkar and Rayudu, who scored half-centuries, MI fell short and finished as runners-up.

Despite the disappointment of missing out on the title, MI continued their impressive form in the following seasons. In 2011, they finished at the top of the points table, with Tendulkar leading the batting charts. However, in the playoffs, they were once again defeated by CSK, who went on to win their second IPL title.

In 2012, MI made it to the playoffs once again, finishing third in the points table. This time, they faced off against the formidable Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), who were led by Gautam Gambhir. However, in a one-sided match, MI were comprehensively beaten, with KKR winning their first-ever IPL title.

Related: Mumbai Indians Wallpaper

Despite missing out on the IPL title for the third consecutive year, MI had established themselves as one of the most consistent teams in the league. They had some of the most talented players in their squad, including Tendulkar, Pollard, Malinga, and Rohit Sharma, who had joined the team in 2011.

In 2013, Tendulkar announced his retirement from IPL cricket, and Rohit Sharma was appointed as the new captain of MI. Under Rohit’s leadership, MI won their first IPL title in 2013, defeating CSK in the final. It was a historic moment for the franchise, and they had finally achieved their long-awaited dream of winning the IPL.

Rohit Sharma, who took over as captain of the Mumbai Indians in 2013 after Sachin Tendulkar’s retirement, proved to be an ingenious captain. His captaincy became an instant hit for the team, taking the franchise to its first IPL championship in 2013. With his tactical acumen and excellent man-management skills, Sharma quickly established himself as one of the best captains in the IPL.

The Mumbai Indians continued their dominance in the IPL, winning another title in 2015. In 2017, they once again lifted the trophy under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy, becoming the first team to win three IPL titles. Two years later, in 2019, the Mumbai Indians won their fourth IPL title, once again under the leadership of Rohit Sharma.

Although 2020 will be remembered as a year of unprecedented challenges and disruptions, the Mumbai Indians continued their winning streak. The team, under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, won their fifth IPL title in the UAE, becoming the most successful team in the history of the league.

IPL Season MI Captain
2021 Rohit Sharma
2020 Rohit Sharma
2019 Rohit Sharma
2018 Rohit Sharma
2017 Rohit Sharma
2016 Rohit Sharma
2015 Rohit Sharma
2014 Rohit Sharma
2013 Rohit Sharma
2012 Harbhajan Singh
2011 Sachin Tendulkar
2010 Sachin Tendulkar
2009 Sachin Tendulkar
2008 Sachin Tendulkar

Related: Mumbai Indians owner

Previous Article
Next Article