Who is the Baap of IPL? Check who is the real ‘Baap’ of IPL? Check here

Published on: Feb 1, 2023 9:44 am IST|Updated on: Feb 13, 2023 7:47 pm IST

Who is the Baap of IPL

Who is the Baap of IPL: The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a highly popular T20 cricket league that has been in existence for 15 seasons. Over the years, the IPL has witnessed some of the best cricket players in the world come together to showcase their skills. The league is known for its exciting and thrilling cricket matches.

IPL Teams

The Indian Premier League started with 8 teams but in 2022, two more teams made it to the biggest T20 league in the World. Check out the 10 teams who feature in Indian Premier League.

  • Gujarat Titans
  • Lucknow Super Giants
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Rajasthan Royals
  • Punjab Kings
  • Kolkata Knight Riders

Who is the Baap of IPL?

MS Dhoni is referred to as the “Baap of the IPL” for leading Chennai Super Kings to four IPL championships. He has also led the team to a record nine IPL finals and has only missed the playoffs once, in the 2020 season. Despite being suspended for two years due to allegations of match-fixing, Dhoni led the Rising Pune Supergiant in the 2016 IPL season.

Dhoni is known for his finishing skills, scoring 4,746 runs in the IPL from the lower to the middle order. He averages around 40 runs a game and has a strike rate in the mid-130s. Even though his performance has declined in recent years, bowlers still fear facing him in the final overs.

Mumbai Indians: Another IPL Baap

The Mumbai Indians are another team in the IPL that has a large fan base, as the city of Mumbai loves cricket. The team finally won the IPL trophy in the 2013 season, courtesy of having talented players such as Zaheer Khan, Sachin Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh, and others. The team had come close to winning the title once in the 2010 season, where they reached the final, but were defeated by Chennai Super Kings, who were captained by MS Dhoni at the time.

Rohit Sharma is another answer to who is the baap of IPL cricket. He is the most successful captain in IPL history with 5 titles. The stylish right-hander started his captaincy stint for Mumbai Indians in 2013 and since then has led the team to five IPL titles in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020. Check Rohit Sharma’s IPL captaincy record till the 2022 season,

Captaincy Span Matches Won Lost Tied NR Win Percentage
2013-2022 143 79 60 4 0 56.64%

MS Dhoni: The IPL’s Godfather

MS Dhoni is widely recognized as the “Godfather” or ‘Baap’ of the IPL for his successful management of the Chennai Super Kings. He has repeatedly demonstrated his abilities as a leader, making him one of the most respected figures in the league. With his impressive record, it comes as no surprise that many people consider MS Dhoni as the IPL’s Godfather.

In conclusion, the Indian Premier League is a highly entertaining cricket league that features some of the best players in the world. With talented teams, thrilling matches, and exciting finishes, the IPL is a must-watch for cricket fans. The league’s popularity is evident in the numerous discussions about who the “Baap” and “Godfather” of the IPL is, highlighting the impact that MS Dhoni has had on the league.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article