Who won IPL 2018? Check details

Published on: Mar 24, 2023 10:03 pm IST|Updated on: Mar 24, 2023 10:03 pm IST

Who won IPL 2018

Under the leadership of MS Dhoni, the Chennai Super Kings had a triumphant comeback season in 2018. The team clinched their third IPL title by defeating Sunrisers Hyderabad in the final by 8 wickets. Despite Hyderabad being a strong team, Chennai’s dominance was evident as they had already beaten them four times in the same season.

Who won IPL 2018? Check details

In a highly anticipated final match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018, Shane Watson played a blinder to lead Chennai Super Kings (CSK) to victory over Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). Watson finished with an unbeaten 117 off just 57 balls, making it the highest score in an IPL final. His performance was nothing short of spectacular, with 11 fours and eight sixes in his innings.

Watson was involved in valuable partnerships with Suresh Raina (32) and Ambati Rayudu (16*), as CSK reached their target in just 18.3 overs. Watson’s century was his second of the season, and it came at a crucial time in the final. His exceptional knock made him the man of the match, and it was clear that without his contribution, CSK would have had a much harder time chasing the target.

This victory was a happy comeback for CSK, who had been banned for two seasons following the spot-fixing scandal. Their triumph over the 2016 champions marked their seventh appearance in the IPL final, and it was a special moment for captain MS Dhoni, who was playing in his eighth IPL final. Dhoni led his team from the front and played a crucial role in their successful campaign.

On the other hand, SRH had a good start in their innings, but they slowed down in the middle overs. They managed to post a challenging score of 178 for six, thanks to the efforts of Kane Williamson (47 off 36) and Yusuf Pathan (45* off 25). Williamson had a highly successful season, but he missed out on yet another fifty in the final. He hit two sixes and five fours in his innings, showing why he was one of the top batsmen of the tournament.

Related: Virat Kohli recent interview

Pathan played an outstanding innings in the death overs, pummeling the opposition bowlers with some big hits. His contribution was crucial in taking SRH close to the 180-run mark. Carlos Brathwaite (21 in 11) also played a significant role in the final overs, hitting some much-needed big shots to give SRH a fighting chance.

In the end, it was CSK’s day, who won IPL 2018. The team had shown remarkable resilience throughout the season, and their comeback after the two-year ban was nothing short of remarkable. The IPL 2018 final was a fitting end to a thrilling tournament, and it will be remembered for a long time to come.

The IPL 2018 final was an exciting match that saw Chennai Super Kings Who won IPL 2018 final encounter over Sunrisers Hyderabad. CSK’s remarkable resilience throughout the season was evident in their comeback after the two-year ban. The team’s return to the tournament was nothing short of remarkable, and their victory in the final was well-deserved.

CSK had a challenging season, but they remained focused and determined throughout. Their remarkable comeback was a testament to the team’s fighting spirit, and their victory in the final was a fitting end to a thrilling tournament. The players had shown tremendous character and grit, which made them a formidable opponent for any team.

The IPL 2018 final will be remembered for a long time to come. It was a momentous occasion for CSK, who had been away from the tournament for two seasons. The team had come back stronger than ever, and their victory in the final was a testament to their hard work and dedication.

Overall, the IPL 2018 was an exciting tournament, with many memorable performances and thrilling matches. The final was a fitting end to the tournament, and it showcased the best of T20 cricket. The IPL has become a popular tournament around the world, and its success is a testament to the popularity of cricket as a sport.

Related: Who was the MI Captain in IPL 2012?

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article