Where to watch Nidahas Trophy opener between India and Sri Lanka

Published on: Mar 5, 2018 6:36 pm IST|Updated on: Mar 12, 2018 11:08 am IST

Hindustan Times

Sri Lanka vs India, 1st Match

Nidahas Trophy

India resumes their rivalry with their familiar neighbours in Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, this time to commemorate the island nation’s 70th Independence day anniversary. The Nidahas Trophy comes with an all-new T20 avatar after being staged as an ODI triangular tournament back in 1998 featuring India, New Zealand and hosts Sri Lanka to celebrate the latter 50th independence day. India and Sri Lanka locked horns in a nail-biting final which the Men in Blue emerging victorious.

Analyzing the teams and the marquee players to watch out for:


As it always happens after a grueling overseas sojourn, India after their arduous South African tour have rested the big boys in Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya and Kuldeep Yadav. With the big boys resting, the Nidahas Trophy offers the likes of Raina and KL Rahul to stake their claims into the pecking order.

While Raina and Rahul look to cement their spot in the side on a more permanent basis, the likes of Washington Sundar, Rishabh Pant, Vijay Shankar, Deepak Hooda and Mohammed Siraj have all been rewarded with another chance to showcase their mettle at the highest level. While Pant would give us a glimpse of the post-Dhoni era, the likes of Hooda, Shankar, and Sundar will be more or less pitted in the same bracket in the absence of Pandya.

Washington Sundar with bis miserly bowling to round off his batting skills will have to compete against Axar Patel who has been living under the shadow of the wrist-spinners for some time now.

INDIA SQUAD for Nidahas Trophy:

Rohit Sharma (C), Shikhar Dhawan (VC), KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammad Siraj.



Hampered by injuries to their captain Angelo Matthews and batsman Asela Gunaratne, Sri Lanka will bank on their Test captain Dinesh Chandimal who has time again lifted himself time and again, the most recent ODI and T20I series in Bangladesh being the prime example. Apart from Chandimal, Sri Lanka would require their seasoned campaigners in the form of Upul Tharanga, Thisara Perera to step up.

While Dickwella has been dropped from the squad, Kusal Perera returns to the team after a side strain that ruled him out of the Bangladesh T20Is and he would hold the key for the hosts at the top of the order.

SRI LANKA SQUAD for Nidahas Trophy:

Dinesh Chandimal (C), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Perera, Thisara Pereera, Jeevan Mendis, Suranga Lakmal, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Isuru Udana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Akila Dhananjaya, Amila Aponso, Asitha Fernando, Lahiru Kumara, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Dhananjaya de Silva


When and Where the Nidahas Trophy 2018

  • When and Where India vs Sri Lanka match be played?

    The encounter  will be played at the R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo on March 6, 2018



    • Where to watch Nidahas Trophy matches on TV?

    The live telecast of the match can be streamed at DSport for English commentary while the HINDI version can be streamed on Rishtey Cineplex/HD

    • What time will the coverage start?

    The viewers can catch the coverage of the mouth-watering clash at 7:00 IST


For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article