Who are the favourites to win T20 World Cup 2022?

Updated on: Sep 12, 2022 5:30 pm IST

  • Who are the favourites to win T20 World Cup 2022?

    Excitement is gathering pace as the countdown for the T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia has already started. No less than 12 teams will compete for the mega event in 28 days to be called the champions of the World in the shortest format. But who exactly are the favourites to clinch the title in 2022?

    1. Australia

    As the defending champions, Australia will fancy their chances and have the right to do that. Not only are they the defending champions, but also the host of the tournament. They know the winning formulae very well having notched exciting numbers in the 2021 showpiece.

    The likes of David Warner and Mitchell Marsh will be accompanied by last year’s semifinal hero Matthew Wade. Interestingly, the Aussies have kept the same squad albeit with one change as Mitchell Santner misses out while Tim David comes into the squad, who gives another dimension to the team.

    2. India

    As inaugural champions of the 2007 edition, India are yet to add to their tally and have the firepower to go all the way. If issues surrounding form and fitness could be kept aside, the Indian team has some of the biggest match-winners in the format. The likes of Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, and Virat Kohli have nothing to prove on the global stage and will look to add another trophy to their impressive cabinet.

    3. Pakistan

    Currently, no other team possesses the firepower of bowlers that Pakistan have in their team. The likes of Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, and Haris Rauf all ended with 8 wickets each in the Asia Cup, showing the bowling unit is one of the strongest in the world. Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan are one of the best T20 batters at the current moment, which therefore makes the Men in Green a balanced side and one of the favourites to win the T20 World Cup.

    4. England

    The English side were unlucky to have missed out on the title in 2021, as they lost in the semifinal to New Zealand. However, with a new captain and rejuvenated blood from the likes of Jos Buttler and Co, they will look to add a second title to their name. They might struggle with the fitness issues surrounding Jofra Archer who will be missing from the team, while question marks are there on Ben Stokes’ availability as well.

    The other names that could be part of the debate include former champions Sri Lanka, who are now the Asian champions. However, with the unpredictability factor surrounding the team, it will be interesting how they come up. They beat the likes of India and Pakistan in the Asia Cup but also lost to Afghanistan. New Zealand and West Indies will also be part of the debate to clinch the T20 World Cup Down Under.

    Previous Article
    Next Article