Virat Kohli, Gautam Gambhir, R Ashwin and Ajinkya Rahane will not attend IPL opening ceremony! Here’s why?

Published on: Apr 5, 2018 6:04 pm IST|Updated on: Apr 5, 2018 6:07 pm IST

Unlike the rest of the IPL editions, this year, IPL captains- Virat Kohli, Gautam Gambhir, R Ashwin, Ajinkya Rahane, Dinesh Karthik and Kane Williamson will not attend the opening ceremony which is scheduled to take place on April 07.

The opening ceremony of this edition of IPL will take place on April 7 before the season opener between MI and CSK. On the very next day, April 8, there is a doubleheader between DD Vs KXIP in Mohali and RCB Vs KKR in Kolkata.

The BCCI has therefore decided that the six captains apart from MI and CSK won’t need to attend the Best Vs Best ┬áIPL opening ceremony. However, all the eight captains will do a special video shoot a day before and leave for their respective cities.


Image Source – Zee News


Till the last edition of the IPL, the opening ceremony was held a day before the season opener and was attended by captains to sign the “Spirit of Cricket” pledge. However, due to some logistical issues, all the captains will not be able to attend the opening ceremony.

According to a senior BCCI official-

“IPL team should have done their homework. They are calling Gautam Gambhir and Ravichandran Ashwin a day before an afternoon match. That’s absolute lack of homework,”

The IPL 2018 kick starts on April 07 with special performances of Bollywood biggies Varun Dhawan, Jacqueline Fernandez, Parineeti Chopra, and a grand final act by superstar Hrithik Roshan.

Related: Ranveer Injured! This star will…

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article