Watto power shatters SRH’s dream, CSK crowned IPL 2018 champions!

Published on: May 27, 2018 11:03 pm IST|Updated on: May 27, 2018 11:05 pm IST


After 59 games and a lot of nerve-wracking clashes, Chennai Super Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad locked horns today at iconic Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai for the Vivo IPL 2018 Final. The journey so far was quite exhilarating and so was the final.

This was the fourth time both the teams came face to face this season. In previous three occasions, CSK took an edge over the opposition and they had to do it one more time to win the title. And, that’s what they did!

Winning the toss, the two-time title winner captain MS Dhoni invited Sunrisers Hyderabad to set the target. Accepting the proposal with open hands, Sunrisers lost their first wicket at 13 runs in the form of Shreevats Goswami.

Skipper Kane Williamson and Shikhar Dhawan provided a much-needed start with a 50 runs partnership before R Jadeja sent back the all set S Dhawan back to dug out. However, with skipper Kane Williamson’s 47 of 36 deliveries and Yusuf Pathan’s handy cameo of 45* of 25 deliveries, Sunrisers posted a total of 178-6 on the scoreboard.

Now, it was the turn for the returning champions to chase down the total in front of the best bowling attack in the Vivo IPL 218. And, it started the same. With Shane Watson at the receiving end, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar opened the bowling attack for SRH with a maiden.

Watson for the first time scored 0 in 10 deliveries and the pressure was well felt by Faf du Plessis on the other hand. It resulted in the fall of Faf du Plessis at the score of 16. However, looking off-color Shane Watson shifted his gear quickly and blasted 117* in just 57 balls and took the IPL trophy away from Sunrisers.

This was his second IPL century in this season and alike the first one, it was also a match wining knock. CSK easily chased down the target in 18.3 over with 8 wickets remaining and lifted the Vivo IPL 2018 trophy.

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article