Categories: Off The Field
| On Updated : Jul 23, 2018 1:48 PM IST

This Mumbai Indians star will lead Board President’s XI against South Africa A

Former under-19 captain and Mumbai Indians this edition sensational wicketkeeper batter Ishan Kishan will lead Board President's XI for the practice game against South Africa A. The 3-day practice match against South Africa A will begin on July 30 in Belgaum, Karnataka. South Africa A will play 2 unofficial tests against India A starting from Aug 04 – Aug13 following the practice match.

A 14-member squad has been named including the likes of Siddhesh Lad, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Dhruv Shorey, Ricky Bhui, Anmolpreet Singh and many more. The batting prowess lies in the names of Siddhesh Lad, Mumbai's leading run-scorer in Ranji Trophy, Anmolpreet Singh, who scored 753 runs in 7 innings for Punjab in his maiden first-class season, and Jalaj Saxena, three-times Lala Amarnath Awardee for the best all-rounder in Ranji Trophy. Bowling department includes young Shivam Mavi, Avesh Khan, Mihir Hirwani and Dharmendra Singh Jadeja. A member of India U-19 World Cup Winning squad, Shivam Mavi was KKR's new pace sensation in the IPL 2018 edition.

Ishan Kishan, who became an overnight star after hitting Kuldeep Yadav for four successive sixes at the Eden Gardens and a record-equalling half-century, was the part of India A squad for limited overs which toured England recently. Sharing the gloves with Rishabh Pant, Kishan only got two opportunities in the entire tournament scoring a 46-ball fifty against England Lions and remaining unbeaten on 21 against WI-A. This will be a great opportunity for the boys to perform and get a ticket in A squad.

This will be for the second time, the 20-year-old Kishan will be leading a team. He was the captain of the Indian U-19 team during the 2016 ICC Under 19 World Cup along with Anmolpreet Singh and Ricky Bhui in the squad.

Board President’s XI squad: Ishan Kishan (c & wk), Ricky Bhui, Siddhesh Lad, Avesh Khan, RR Sanjay, AR Eshwaran, Dhruv Shorey, Anmolpreet Singh, Jalaj Saxena, Mihir Hirwani, DA Jadeja, Shivam Mavi, Ishaan Porel, Atith Seth.

Dheeraj Singh @Cric_kette

A 90's born who has witnessed Sachin becoming "The God", Dhoni becoming "The only Captain to have won all the ICC trophies" and Kohli turning into a "run-machine". Cricket is something I am crazy for and I try to deliver the best and true I can in my every writing.