November 25, 2018
| On 3 months ago

Three Indians in ICC Women’s World T20 team of the tournament

By Chaitanya Laxman

The ICC has announced the team of the tournament for the recently concluded Women’s World T20 in Windies. The team features three Indian cricketers including skipper Harmanpreet Kaur who is also the captain of this team.

Harmanpreet, Mandhana and Poonam in ICC’s team

Indian skipper Harmanpreet Kaur was sensational in the tournament. She produced a sterling century against New Zealand which worked as the perfect advertisement for the ICC’s tournament. Harmanpreet didn’t make big contributions in the next matches but her presence in the middle kept the opponent bowlers on their toes.

The ICC also rewarded India’s vice-captain Smriti Mandhana for the solidarity she brought at the top in India’s innings. She will be opening the innings in the ICC team along with Alyssa Healy.

Mandhana scored 178 runs in the tournament which includes a spectacular knock of 83 runs against Australia. She also scored 34 runs in the semi-finals against England which India eventually lost.

The Indian leggie Poonam Yadav had a fruitful tournament as well as she picked wickets in every match she played. She was outstanding in the game against England in which she picked three wickets. She ended the tournament with eight wickets.

Team of former cricketers, journalists and ICC management picked the team

The team was selected by a team of experts which included former cricketers Ian Bishop, Anjum Chopra and Ebony Rainford-Brent, journalist Melinda Farrell and ICC’s General Manager – Cricket, Geoff Allardice.

"Join our Telegram Channel to get updates on your mobile IndiaFantasy"
"Follow us on Twitter To get latest updates Click Here to check it out."

Apart from three Indians, the team comprises of three English players, two Australians, and one player each from Bangladesh, New Zealand, Pakistan and Windies.

Also read: IPL 2019 auctions details revealed

The ICC Women’s world T20 team of the tournament-

The team according to the batting order is as follows-

Alyssa Healy (Australia), Smriti Mandhana (India), Amy Jones (England, wicketkeeper), Harmanpreet Kaur (India, Captain), Deandra Dottin (Windies), Javeria Khan (Pakistan), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Anya Shrubsole (England), Kirstie Gordon (England), Poonam Yadav (India).

Note:-India Fantasy caters to sports enthusiasts who are willing to play on fantasy platform to win big. We provide fantasy previews for platforms such asDream11 but do not run any cash contests on our website.
Chaitanya Laxman

View Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*