IPL 2019 Auction: Date, venue and time revealed

Published on: Nov 25, 2018 5:33 pm IST|Updated on: Dec 18, 2018 10:28 am IST

IPL 2020 released players

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has revealed the date, venue and time of the player auctions for the 12th season of IPL which will be played in 2019. For the first time since its inception, the auctions will begin at 03:00 PM and the venue will be Jaipur.


BCCI targets prime-time viewership 

The auction will have 70 slots with 50 maximum for Indian players and 20 maximum for overseas players.

The BCCI seems to be targeting the prime-time viewership for this year’s auction as they will be starting it at 03:00 PM. In the previous years, the auction generally started at 10:00 AM.

The auction will take place on 18th December which is again a strategic date as it is the fifth and the last day of the second Test between Australia and India.

The auctions will be held at Jaipur this year.

Image credits @ Twitter


England and Aussie players to miss the end part of IPL

The 2019 edition of IPL will be followed by the ICC world cup which will take place in England. And to ensure the players are fit and fresh for the all-important ICC event, cricket boards of Australia and England have declared that their players will not participate in the IPL matches that will take place in May.

This will be a key factor for the teams when they arrive for the auctions on December 18. Similarly, Indian captain Virat Kohli had suggested the CoA that Indian bowlers who will be featuring in the world cup should be rested from the IPL. There is no final decision yet on Kohli’s request.

Also read: England’s dreams shattered, AUS clinch fourth Womens world T20 title 


Plenty of big names in the IPL Auction

There are several players to watch out for during this year’s auctions.

Saurabh Tiwary,JP Duminy, Pat Cummins, Mustafizur Rahman, Gautam Gambhir, Jason Roy, Gurkeerat Mann, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammad Shami,Mitchell Starc, Ishank Jaggi,  Brendon McCullum, Chris Woakes, Corey Anderson, Sarfraz Khan, Wriddhiman Saha, Carlos Brathwaite, Axar Patel, Aaron Finch, Mohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh and Manoj Tiwary have all been released by their respective franchises and hence might be available for the auctions.


For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article