Categories: Cricket NewsIPL 2020
| On 2 days ago

5 Best overseas cricketers in IPL history

Indian Premier League (IPL) is a tournament that is being held to identify the hidden cricketing  talents in India. The very objective of IPL itself is to groom young Indian players. But over the years various overseas players have made huge impact in the IPL. Their performances, experience and skills have helped in the overall development of the tournament.

5 Best overseas cricketers in IPL history

1. Lasith Malinga

The highest wicket-taker in the IPL, Malinga is a all time legend when it comes to the IPL. The Sri Lanka pacer has claimed 170 wickets at an average of 19.80, giving away just 7.14 runs per over. What’s remarkable is that Malinga has played significantly lesser matches than every other bowler in the top five, and still sits above them comfortably.

Even at the last stage of his career he is the best when it comes to death bowling.

He put in a remarkable performance in Mumbai’s victory over CSK in the 2019 final, defending 13 in the last over to give them a record fourth title. He was also a recipient of the Purple Cap in the 2011 edition.

2. Chris Gayle

The poster boy of T20 cricket, Chris Gayle is the most feared and intimidating batsman in IPL history. Gayle has represented three franchises (Kings XI, KKR, RCB) but was at his best while playing for RCB. He scored 3163 runs in 84 innings at an average of 43.32 and strike rate of 152.72 for them. He has scored 4484 runs in 125 matches at an average of 41.14 and an astonishing strike rate of over 150. He has six hundreds, five of which came for RCB including the all time highest IPL score of 175 against Pune Warriors India. He also has hit the maximum number of sixes in the tournament (326) and holds the record for the fastest hundred.

Gayle was at his peak between 2011-13 – he scored in excess of 600 runs, averaged above 55 and struck at a rate of 155-plus in three consecutive IPL seasons.

3. David Warner

David Warner has been amongst the most prolific run-scorers in the tournament, and is one of its best foreign player of all time. He has represented two franchises – the Delhi Daredevils and Sunrisers Hyderabad – his record for the latter is outstanding. The left-hander is fourth on the list of all-time run scorers, having aggregated 4,706 runs at a strike-rate of 142.39. His average of 43.17 is significantly higher than the rest of the top five, the next best being Virat Kohli, who averages 37.84.

Warner led Sunrisers Hyderabad to their sole IPL triumph in 2016, becoming the third overseas captain to win the tournament. He has won the Orange Cap thrice in his career, more than any other player.


Midhun M Menon @MidhunMMenon25

An engineer who watches, plays and writes cricket.