After Gayle and Russell, another Windies batsman pulls out of India ODIs

Updated on: Oct 17, 2018 4:40 pm IST

Looks like trouble for Windies is not going to end any soon. The already depleted side encountered another major blow when attacking opening batsman Evin Lewis pulled out of the India tour citing personal reasons.

The visitors are already missing the services of Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine and Andre Russell from their limited-overs squad against India and now Lewis’s withdrawal comes as another major blow to the side.

Evin Lewis declines Cricket Windies central contract

Lewis declines Windies central contract:

Cricket Windies on Monday confirmed the list of central contract-awardees for the men’s and the women’s teams and revealed that Evin Lewis has declined the central contract to be available for T20 leagues around the world.

However, this is not the first time an individual has skipped national duty to play in T20 leagues. Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard and Andre Russell have taken this route in the past.

Here’s the list of Cricket Windies central contract players-

All-format contracts

Shai Hope, Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Kemar Roach

IN- Kemar Roach

OUT- Shannon Gabriel, Devendra Bishoo

Red-ball contracts

Roston Chase, Devendra Bishoo, Shane Dowrich, Kraigg Brathwaite,  Miguel Cummins, Shimron Hetmyer, Shannon Gabriel, Kieran Powell

White-ball contracts

Ashley Nurse, Carlos Brathwaite, Rovman Powell


Replacement named:

Cricket Windies has named Kieron Powell as Lewis’s replacement in the ODI squad.

Nicholas Pooran will fill in for Lewis in the 3-match T20I series.

The 5-match ODI series begins from Sunday which will be followed by 3-T20Is  starting from November 01.

Kieron Powell has been named as the replacement for the ODI squad @Cricket Australia


ODI squad: Marlon Samuels, Jason Holder (C), Keemo Paul, Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Fabian Allen, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Shai Hope, Obed McCoy, Ashley Nurse, Kieran Powell, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Shimron Hetmyer, Oshane Thomas

T20I squad: Carlos Brathwaite (C), Sherfane Rutherford, Nicholas Pooran, Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Fabian Allen, Obed McCoy, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Oshane Thomas

For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article