Another big Windies player ruled out of Bangladesh Test series

Updated on: Nov 16, 2018 7:32 pm IST

  • Windies team management has decided to leave out batsman Darren Bravo for the Test series against Bangladesh. The left-hand batsman had made a comeback in international cricket by featuring in the T20I side but he is still kept away from the Test team.

    Windies announce their Test squad

    The Windies cricket team has announced the squad for the Test series against Bangladesh and it doesn’t include Bravo who hasn’t played Test cricket in the last two years.

    The team includes Shim­ron Het­my­er, Shai Hope, and Kier­an Pow­ell in the middle-order.

    Bravo was axed from the Windies team for making a ‘dis­parag­ing’ tweet in November 2016. But the team management decided to rope him in the team for the T20I series against India. However, it seems that he has to wait a little longer to play Test cricket.

    Image credits @ AP


    We have the ability to do well in Bangladesh: Chairman of selectors

    The Chair­man of se­lec­tors Court­ney Browne said that af­ter a tough tour of In­dia, the se­lec­tion pan­el has kept faith with the cur­rent Test match squad as they be­lieves that in de­vel­op­ing a com­pet­i­tive team there is a lot to learn from these tough tours.

    He admitted that the loss of cap­tain Ja­son Hold­er will be heart­felt but he made it clear that the pan­el be­lieves that the team still has the abil­i­ty to do very well in Bangladesh.

    Browne noted that Kraigg Brath­waite will lead the team in Ja­son’s ab­sence and Ray­mon Reifer’s all-around abil­i­ty will give the squad ad­di­tion­al op­tions.

    Also read: Laxman rates Down Under knock  higher than Kolkata 281


    Windies squad for Test series against Bangladesh

    Kraigg Brath­waite (Cap­tain), Sunil Am­bris, Ros­ton Chase, Shane Dowrich, Shan­non Gabriel, Jah­mar Hamil­ton, Shim­ron Het­my­er, Shai Hope, Sher­mon Lewis, Keemo Paul, Kier­an Pow­ell, Ray­mon Reifer, Ke­mar Roach, Jomel War­ri­can, De­ven­dra Bishoo.

    The first Test between the two teams will start from November 22 and the second from November 30.



    Previous Article
    Next Article