Categories: Cricket News
| On Dec 15, 2021 12:44 PM IST

AUS vs ENG: England Playing XI to be picked from 12-man squad for 2nd Ashes Test


AUS vs ENG: In a massive recent development, the visiting England team has announced a 12-member squad for the second Ashes 2021-22 Test match against Australia starting from 16 December in Adelaide. The second game between England and Australia will be a day-night Test match scheduled to be played with the pink ball. Australia currently leads the five-match Test series by 1-0 margin after their phenomenal 9-wicket win in the first Test match.

England Playing XI: England 12-man Squad Announced for Ashes 2nd Test

England’s senior pacer James Anderson makes a return after recovering well from a calf injury as the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have announced a 12-man squad for the second Test against Australia. In a surprising call, right-arm speedster Mark Wood has been rested for this day-night Test while all-rounder Ben Stokes is completely after hurting his leg while fielding during the first Test at The Gabba.

England 12-man Squad for Ashes 2nd Test

Joe Root (c), Jimmy Anderson, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Haseeb Hameed, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes.

Related: Fan Invades the Field during First Ashes Test – WATCH


England will have to make a hard call whether they have to play both Stuart Broad and James Anderson in the playing 11 for the second Test or not. It is very much likely that left-arm spinner Jack Leach will have to sit out for this day-night Test match against Australia after his below-par outing in Brisbane.

ENG Playing 11 (likely)
Rory Burns
Haseeb Hameed
Dawid Malan
Joe Root
Ben Stokes
Ollie Pope
Jos Buttler
Chris Woakes
Stuart Broad
James Anderson
Ollie Robinson

Related: England Fan Proposes to Australian Girlfriend in Ashes Test – WATCH

On the other hand, Australia have announced their playing 11 for the second Test match. Injured paceman Josh Hazlewood has been replaced by Jhye Richardson while the rest of the side has been retained from the win at The Gabba.

Australia Playing 11 (Confirmed)
David Warner
Marcus Harris
Marnus Labuschagne
Steve Smith
Travis Head
Alex Carey
Cameron Green
Pat Cummins
Mitchell Starc
Nathan Lyon 
Jhye Richardson

Related: Mitchell Starc FIRST Ball Wicket in Ashes Test – WATCH

For more Ashes 2021 news, click here

Kuljyot Singh

A cricket maniac who lives his life like a T20 match, time is short so make the most of it. Always thriving to learn more about cricket writing and obviously being an Indian, a big cricket expert.