BAN vs IND: Why is Axar Patel Not Playing Today’s Bangladesh vs India 1st ODI Match?

Updated on: Dec 4, 2022 5:44 pm IST

  • Axar Patel

    BAN vs IND: India and Bangladesh are locking horns in the three-match ODI series. The first two games of the series will be played in Dhaka on 4th December and 7th December respectively. Whereas third game is scheduled to take place in Chattogram on 10th December.

    BAN vs IND: Axar Patel not available for selection due to injury

    The first ODI between Bangladesh and India is currently taking place in Dhaka. Visitors’ skipper Rohit Sharma after losing the toss announced that they have few injuries in the camp, which was one of the main reason they went with four all-rounders in the side.

    But later BCCI cleared that Rishabh Pant and Axar Patel are two players that are out with the injury. While the keeper batter is ruled out of the series, the all-rounder was not available for the selection for first ODI.

    In his place India has opted for both Washington Sundar and Shahbaz Ahmed in the playing XI along with giving debut cap to Kuldeep Sen.

    Taking to the official Twitter account, BCCI released the official statement and said “In consultation with the BCCI Medical Team, Rishabh Pant has been released from the ODI squad. He will join the team ahead of the Test series. No replacement has been sought Axar Patel was not available for selection for the first ODI.”

    BAN vs IND:  Indian playing XI for first ODI against Bangladesh

    India have opted to go with four all-rounders in Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Deepak Chahar and Shardul Thakur. In the absence of Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul has been given the wicket keeping duties. Kuldeep Sen is making his debut and form pace attack with Mohammed Siraj. Whereas Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli and Shreyas Iyer are the four front line batters in the side.

    Here’s the Indian playing XI:

    Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Sen

    Previous Article
    Next Article