Categories: Cricket News
| On May 21, 2021 11:06 PM IST

BAN vs SL: Possible Playing 11 of Bangladesh for 1st ODI


Bangladesh Playing 11: Bangladesh and Sri Lanka will fight it out in a 3-match ODI series starting here at Dhaka. The home side has always been strong at home and it will take a decent effort from the Sri Lankans to get past them. Sri Lanka leads the overall head-to-head record in ODIs 39-7. Bangladesh’s last win over SL came in 2019 Asia Cup. But in the last few years, Bangladesh have been a tough opposition especially at home. Bangla Tigers are looking for their first ever series win over Sri Lanka and this might be a perfect opportunity for them.

For Bangladesh, Al Amin Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Hasan Mahmud and Nasum Ahmed have missed out from the New Zealand tour. Najmul Hossain Shanto has also failed to make the cut for the ODI side due to his poor recent form in this format.

BAN Playing 11 (likely)

Tamim Iqbal (C)
Liton Das
Shakib Al Hasan
Mushfiqur Rahim (wk)
Soumya Sarkar
Afif Hossain
Mehedi Hasan
Mohammad Saifuddin
Taskin Ahmed
Mustafizur Rahman

ODIs have been Bangladesh’s favourite format as it suits their style of play. Skipper Tamim Iqbal has been in good form in the recent Test matches and will be looking to give a quick start here. Shakib and Mushfiqur’s experience in the middle order boasts well for the team while Mahmudullah is a capable finisher. The bowling attack looks complete with Mustafizur and Shakib returning from the IPL.

BAN vs SL: Possible Playing 11 of Sri Lanka for 1st ODI

BAN Squad for ODI series
Tamim Iqbal (C), Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Soumya Sarkar, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Shoriful Islam.
Standbys: Taijul Islam, Mohammad Naim, Shohidul Islam, Aminul Islam Biplob.

Where to Watch BAN vs SL Live

You can watch the ball by ball and the Live score coverage of the Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka match on Fancode. The match will be played on 23 May and will start at 12:30 pm (IST).

READ: IPL restart in England? Here’s update

Monojit Das

An avid reader and follower of cricket