Categories: Cricket News
| On May 21, 2021 11:20 PM IST

BAN vs SL: Possible Playing 11 of Sri Lanka for 1st ODI


Sri Lanka Playing 11: After a win in the recently concluded Test series, Sri Lanka is ready to take on Bangladesh again but in a different format. Since the matches will now be played on Bangladesh’s soil, SL will know it will be a challenging task for them to play a full strength home side who are exceptional at home. In the overall head-to-head record in this format, Sri Lanka leads Bangladesh 39-7 in 48 matches. The Lankans will be excited as it will be their first match under new captain Kusal Perera and they will look to start on a high.

SL’s new selection committee has made several changes to the squad including the appointment of Kusal Perera as captain and Kusal Mendis as vice-captain. Karunaratne, Chandimal and Mathews have been dropped from this ODI squad.

SL Playing 11 (likely)

Kusal Perera (C) (wk)
Danushka Gunathilaka
Kusal Mendis
Pathum Nissanka
Dhananjaya de Silva
Ashen Bandara
Dasun Shanaka
Wanindu Hasaranga
Isuru Udana
Dushmantha Chameera
Asitha Fernando

With Kusal Perera taking the reign of the side, SL is likely to adopt an attacking form of cricket. They have an inexperienced middle order but players like Nissanka and Kusal Mendis have plenty of talent. Dhananjaya de Silva will be important with his offspin in these conditions. Hasaranga will play a crucial role here as he has been in some good white-ball form of late.

READ: BAN vs SL: Possible Playing 11 of Bangladesh for 1st ODI

SL Squad for ODI series
Kusal Perera (C), Kusal Mendis, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Dasun Shanaka, Niroshan Dickwella, Ashen Bandara, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera, Asitha Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Chamika Karunaratne, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando.

Where to Watch BAN vs SL Live

You can watch the ball by ball and the Live score coverage of the Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka match on Fancode. The match will be played on 23 May and will start at 12:30 pm (IST).

ECS T10 Live: Batsman smashes 6 sixes in an over. WATCH

Monojit Das

An avid reader and follower of cricket