| On Apr 15, 2021 11:54 PM IST

BCCI Central Contracts List for 2020-21 Season: Only Three Players In Grade A+, Manish Pandey Misses Out


The Board of Cricket Control of India announced a central contracts list for the 2020-21 season for the period of October 2020 to September 2021. After the country saw its nationwide lockdown and restrictions for around 6 months, IPL 2020 was organized. The players featured in the IPL 2020 that took place in the UAE.
After the IPL 2020, the Indian team toured Australia for the all-format series and emerged victorious in the test and T20I series. In the home series against England, the team won the test series in a dominating fashion and took on the momentum to the limited-overs series.

Read: Sanju Samson Takes A Stunner off Jaydev Unadkat’s Ball To Dismiss Shikhar Dhawan, Watch

BCCI Central Contracts for 2020-21

There are 4 pay grades – A+, A, B, and C. The players with A+ grade will get paid 7 crores, A gets 5 Crore, B gets 3 Crore, and C gets 1 Crore. There have been few changes in the contracts for this year. The three players, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Jasprit Bumrah have bagged an A+ contract due to their availability in all formats of the game. The pace bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar has recovered from injury and returned to international cricket in the home series against England has been included in Grade C. While, Hardik Pandya has been promoted to the Grade A list. The spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal have been demoted to Grade C due to their ordinary performances in the limited-overs format.

Read: IPL 2021: Aakash Chopra Shuts Down A Troll On Twitter

Who are the players released and added for 2020/21 Contract?

Manish Pandey has been left out of the BCCI contract, as he has not been seen in touch, for a long time and has not performed for the Indian team, for very long. He was a part of the Indian team in the limited-overs, but his past performances have pulled him out of a contract. Whereas, Kedar Jadhav, has been a long part of the Indian ODI team, but has failed to perform even a couple of times, which has to lead him to the end of his contract.

Shubman Gill has been added to the BCCI’s new contract list, he has been included in the C level contract. Gill has now become an opener for the Indian team in Tests and is eyeing to be a permanent part there. Mohammad Siraj has been a gem for the Indian team in the last two concluded series against Australia and England, where he performed very well. He also has been given a C-level contract.

Full List:

Grade A+ : Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah

Grade A: Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Rishabh Pant, and Hardik Pandya.

Grade B: Wriddhiman Saha, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur, Mayank Agarwal

Grade C: Kuldeep Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Shubman Gill, Hanuma Vihari, Axar Patel, Shreyas Iyer, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Mohammed Siraj

For more cricket news, click here

Harshit Rathi @cricketharshit

Cricket buff. A happy kid who gets to write about Cricket. Traveler.