Categories: Cricket News
| On 2 months ago

Blow to BAN: All-rounder doubtful for final against Windies

By Chaitanya Laxman

Bangladesh has received a massive blow ahead of the finals against Windies in the Tri-nation series.  Star player and all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan is doubtful for this highly crucial match as he is still recovering from the injury he faced in the last ODI.

Shakib injured, management to take call on match day

During Bangladesh’s last ODI in the triangular series against Ireland, Shakib had retired hurt as he faced pain in his left side. He had batted for 51 balls, scoring 50 runs and even had taken a lengthy treatment from the physio midway in the innings.

Image credits @ Twitter

According to a report by Cricinfo, the team management will take a call on Shakib’s availability for the finals on the match day. With the World Cup just a few weeks away, it will be interesting to see whether Bangladesh risks playing Shakib in the finals.

Take a look at the team-by-team guide for ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

Bangladesh in trouble if Shakib misses the finals

The all-rounder is one of Bangladesh’s premier players and is highly experienced. He has featured in 198 ODIs and has 5717 runs and 249 wickets under his belt.

And he is in fine form recently with two half-centuries in his last three ODI appearances.  His presence in the finals would be critical for Bangladesh as his spin bowling can be effective against Windies’ explosive batting line-up.

If Shakib doesn’t feature in the finals, the team management may rope in Liton Das to strengthen the batting department while the likes of Sabbir Rahman will have to roll their arms to make up for Shakib’s overs.

Bangladesh squad for the triangular series:

Bangladesh has won three of their four matches in this tournament and has importantly defeated Windies on both occasions.

Bangladesh squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mohammad Mithun,  Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mohamad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Aby Jayed, Farhad Reza, Mosaddek Hossain, Nayeem Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Yasir Ali

Chaitanya Laxman