Categories: Cricket News
| On May 21, 2021 4:40 PM IST

Bollywood Stars Who Own Professional Cricket Teams


Cricket Team Owner : The cricket fever is something which has been on every Indian’s mind and the Bollywood stars are no different! As the IPL has successfully led to the amalgamation of Bollywood and glamour, these movie stars have not ceased to make their way in the cricket world as well.

Bollywood Stars as Cricket Team Owners

As these famous B-town celebrities have become a major attraction in the cricket stadium, it has brought a new twist to the sport altogether. So, here are some of the famous Bollywood celebs as the owners of professional cricket teams.

1. Preity Zinta – Punjab Kings Owner
The first female actress and one of the youngest IPL franchise owners, the very glamorous Preity Zinta owns the team of Punjab named Punjab Kings. Preity along with Ness Wadia, Mohit Burman, and Karan Paul owns the Mohali based cricket team. Established in the year 2008, the group paid about $76 million to acquire the team. Punjab Kings has so far made to the semi-finalist position in the 2008 IPL match and a runner-up position in the 2014 IPL tournament. Preity Zinta is the brand ambassador of the team and has been spotted several times in the stadium cheering for the team.

2. Shah Rukh Khan – Kolkata Knight Riders Owner
Kolkata Knight Riders is owned by the very well-known Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan’s Red Chilli entertainment. Khan has been very active with the team since the beginning of the team. Kolkata knight riders have won the IPL trophy twice and have several times the playoffs at the tournament. The team has been colossal due to its quality play in the matches and the association with the famous Bollywood stars. Shah Rukh khan owns the team along with Juhi Chawla and her husband Jay Mehta. Knight riders have the highest winning streak so far in the Indian Cricket League.

3. Juhi Chawla – Kolkata Knight Riders Owner
Juhi Chawla, along with shah rukh khan and her spouse Jay Mehta is the owner of the team KKR. Juhi, since the inception of the team, has been involved with it and has actively attended the match in the stadium. She has also been spotted in the media talking about her team and praying for its victory. As the team has been famous for winning the trophy twice, we can be sure of the fact that it is one of the best in its league. With Gautam Gambhir as its former captain, the team was bought for approximately ₹2.98 billion at that time.

IPL Team Owners List and their Net Worth

4. Shilpa Shetty – Rajasthan Royals Owner
The Yoga queen and fitness influencer Shilpa Shetty is not just an internet sensation but was also a cricket team owner along with her husband Karan Kundra. Jaipur, Rajasthan based franchisee won the inaugural edition of the IPL under the leadership of Shane Warne as the captain. The team also managed to be the runners up for 2013 champion league. The team initially cost was $67 million which was also the least expensive at that time. Shetty along with her husband has been seen quite a lot of time during matches and the auction as well cheering for the team.


5. Boney Kapoor and Lt. Sri Devi – Bengal Tigers Team Owner
The Bollywood famous Sri Devi and Boney Kapoor did not stay behind when it came to showcasing the sporty side. The actress-producer duo was the owner of the Bangla Celebrity Cricket League franchise at the Celebrity Cricket League (CCL) along with the famous Sahara group. It was also rumoured that the team will train under the mentorship of the well-known Saurav Ganguly. The formal announcement is yet to be done but there are rumours that the late Bollywood actress’s daughter who is also an upcoming sensation will be seen cheering for the team following her mother’s footsteps.

6. Sohail Khan – Mumbai Heroes  Owner
The cricket obsession is a real thing and the new Celebrity Cricket League has proved no different. This league has brought the love of cricket for a lot of celebrities and Sohail Khan, brother of the famous Salman Khan is the owner of Mumbai Heroes in CCL. The Mumbai Heroes is a franchisee which is owned by various celebrities such as Ritesh Deshmukh, and the brand ambassador is Kriti Sanon and Vikas Kapoor and Jordy Patel. As the best of Bollywood is coming together in an exciting match of cricket, this is truly a sensation of the current times.

7. Sonu Sood – Punjab De Sher Owner
Sonu Sood has been spotted as the all-rounder of the team Punjab De Sher in the Celebrity Cricket League. The team is owned by R. Navraj Hans, Mr Puneet Singh, and Sonu Sood as its captain along with the Punjab film industry together for exciting cricket matches. The brand ambassadors of the team are the famous singers Daler Mehdi and Mikka Singh. There has been a total of 6 seasons so far and the team has performed well so far.

8. Mithun Chakraborty – Royal Bengal Tigers Owner
After following the trails of Shah Rukh Khan who bought the KKR in the IPL, Mithun Chakraborty didn’t stay behind. Chakraborty bought the Kolkata Tigers which was later named and got famous as Royal Bengal Tigers. RCB was one of the nine teams that played in the very initial time of Indian Premier League. The team is based in Kolkata and was under the leadership of the former New Zealand all-rounder Craig McMillan. The team has finished as the runners up in various occasions but couldn’t win the trophy as of now.

Cricket is clearly quite possibly the most-watched sporting events in the nation. There everybody will realize when to turn on the TV to root for the most loved player during the cricket matches. What’s more, these fans are certainly not alone as the same number of superstars totally love this sort of game and even practice it. Having a significant confounded bundle of rules and not a less convoluted history, cricket has vanquished the hearts of individuals everywhere in the world. Not just the celebrities investing their riches in the IPL, with the coming up of Celebrity Cricket League, stars have been actively involved with the game. Famous names like Kriti Sanon, Ayushman Khuranna, Sunil Shetty, Bobby Deol, etc. have been a profound part of it.

10 Most Beautiful Indian Women Cricketers