Chennai Super Kings retain these players for 2019 IPL

Updated on: Nov 15, 2018 2:12 am IST

The champions of the 2018 edition of IPL, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have retained 22 players for the 2019 edition of IPL and have retained three players including two Indians and one English player.


Chennai retains the core group that lifted the IPL 2018 trophy

Chennai Super Kings have decided not to change the core group that won the IPL title in 2018. The franchise has retained senior cricketers including skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja and Dwayne Bravo.

On the other hand Kedar Jadhav and Mitchell Santner who missed the IPL in 2018 due to injuries are still a part of the team while David Willey who replaced Jadhav has been retained as well.


CSK release three players

The franchise has however decided to release three players. England pace bowler Mark Wood who played in only one game in 2018 IPL has been released along with Kshitiz Sharma and Kanishk Seth who are uncapped Indian players.

All the teams have to submit a list of all retained players by November 15. CSK now have a purse of 8.5 crores for the auctions that will take place next month.


We value experience: Fleming 

The head coach of CSK, Stephen Fleming said that they have really valued experience. He noted that he and MS Dhoni are on the same wavelength that experience counts.

Also read: This bowler won’t play in the first Test against AUS: Nehra

According to Fleming, they have a multi-skilled team in their ranks and this for them is very important as this gives them options throughout the course of the season. He also pointed out that around the world experienced players have always been consistent.

List of players retained by CSK: MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Suresh Raina, Kedar Jadhav, Dwayne Bravo, Karn Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Shane Watson, Shardul Thakur, Ambati Rayudu, Murali Vijay, Faf Du Plessis, Sam Billings, Imran Tahir, David Willey, Mitchell Santner, Lungisani Ngidi, Monu Singh, Dhruv Shorey, Deepak Chahar, Asif K M, N Jagadeesan,  Chaitanya Bishnoi.



For daily fantasy sports tips on your mobile phone, Fill out the form below

Previous Article
Next Article