October 8, 2018
| On 9 months ago

Chris Gayle opts out of India tour

By Yash Mittal

Gayle opts out of India tour

Veteran West Indies batsman Chris Gayle has “declined selection” for his side’s ODI and T20 leg of the Indian tour and the impending sojourn of Bangladesh as confirmed today. Just two days ago, Gayle featured in his final List-A match for Jamaica and capped off his domestic career with a match-winning century.

The swashbuckling left-hander has, however, made himself available for the home series against England and the 219 World Cup next June.

A peek into the future


Though Gayle’s absence comes as a major blow for a side that has won just 13 of their 49 ODIs, the Windies are taking it as an opportunity to blood in a few youngsters ahead of the 2019 World Cup.

“We will be without our stalwart, Chris Gayle, for this Indian tour and the next tour against Bangladesh as he has declined selection at this time, however, he has made himself available for the selection for the visit of England to the Caribbean and the CWC in 2019.”

The 25-year-old opener from Guyana-  Chanderpaul Hemraj- has been named into the squad alongside all-rounder Fabian Allen and paceman Oshane Thomas, who had a great outing in the Caribbean Premier League (18 wickets) and Sunil Ambris, who recently made his Test debut earlier this year, has also been included in the touring party.

Another absentee from the ODI squad is hard-hitting all-rounder Andre Russell, who will miss the series due to injury. The all-rounder is, however, expected to feature in the T20I series which succeeds the 5-match rubber.

Also Read:- Tino Best reply to Harbhajan Singh

Pollard and Bravo make their comebacks


Kieron Pollard [Last T20I appearance- 2017] and Darren Bravo [Last T20I appearance- 2014] the two members who’ve had a long-standing contract dispute with the WICB have been added into the T20 set-up which includes a plethora of youngsters who have been given an opportunity based on their performance for Windies A and B teams and CPL.

“With the 2020 ICC World T20 two years away and the limited amount of T20 Internationals within the next year, the panel believes at this juncture it is time to invest in the young players that have emerged over the last two years from Windies A and B teams, along with 2018 CPL,” chairman of selection panel Courtney Browne said.

ODI squad:-

Jason Holder (c), Fabian Allen, Sunil Ambris, Devendra Bishoo, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Oshane Thomas

T20I squad:-

Carlos Brathwaite (c), Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Oshane Thomas, Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Kieron Pollard
Yash Mittal

A cricket lover waiting for the next Indian cricket triumph!